The Flesh Eating Wet Towel #fridayflash #horror

4 minutes

read

Wet Towels Part II: Yes, Flesh Eating Towels Will Devour You!

 

     The wet towel lay crumpled on the bathroom floor. It waited till the house was quiet to make its move. Slowly it slithered down the hallway. Its threads reached forward following the smell. Its prey was close. If it had lips, its wicked smile would have stopped anyone dead in their tracks. Soon it would feel the soft flesh of its victim and devour it.

***

“Daddy!” “Daddy!” “Daddy!”

Jeff stumbled from bed. His fingers trailed along the hallway walls, his eyes half-open. “What is it?”

“My towel! I forgot to hang it up. It’s going to eat me.”

Jeff blinked. “What?”

“Mom said that if you leave your wet towel on the floor it will crave your flesh and eat you while your sleeping.”

Jeff tried to hide a snicker. “Did she…well…did you hang your towel up?”

“No. Will you hang it up for me?”

Jeff started to say yes, but then remembered Carla’s frustration. “Not this time kiddo, you need to hang up your own towel.”

“But Dad…”

“Sorry Sarah…you need to hang up your towel every time, not just when you feel like it.”

“Ok.”

Jeff bent over and kissed his child’s head. “Good night sweetpea.”

     In the hallway Jeff tripped on a wet towel. Frustrated he kicked the towel and cursed. He concluded that his wife had been right to resort to such drastic tactics.

***

     The towel heard its victim call out. The towel grinned, it knew it was coming. Fear made the flesh taste so much sweeter. If it had a tongue it would have licked its lips. The towel froze when he heard a deep voice. It tried to remain inconspicuous, but a large foot  jammed into it and flung it down the hall. This caught the towel off guard, but when it landed in the doorway of its victim the towel was pleased.  

***

“Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the lord my soul to keep. If my towel should eat me before I wake. I pray the lord my soul to take.”

     The towel slithered through the doorway. Its threads of billowy cotton headed for the bed. The smell of its victim was ripe with fear.

“What’s that? Who’s there?”

     The towel stopped moving.

     Sarah pulled the covers close to their chin. The child wanted to scream, but couldn’t. She was frozen with fear. Her heart pounded and her ears perked at every sound around her.

“I know you’re there. I can hear you.”

     Silence.

“Daddy! Daddy! Daddy!”

     Jeff’s feet thudded down the hallway. He didn’t have time for this non-sense. Tomorrow was a busy day for him.

“What is it Sarah.”

“It’s here.”

“What’s here.”

“The towel.”

“No it’s not. Look.”  Jeff flicked on the light.

 At his feet was the wet towel. Sarah’s jaw dropped, her finger trembled as she pointed to it. “It’s going to eat me!”

“No its not. I stumbled on this in the hallway and kicked it over here. Why on earth would you leave your towel in the hallway?”

“I didn’t.”

Jeff gave his daughter the ‘I know your lying look.’

“I didn’t, I swear. I left it on the bathroom floor.”

Jeff reached down and picked up the towel. “Well then how did it end up in the hallway?”

     Sarah shrugged.

Jeff could feel his temper rising. He hung the towel on the door knob. “In the morning hang it in the proper place.”

Sarah sighed. “Thanks Dad.”

“Your welcome. Good night.”

“Night.”

     Sarah slid back into her covers. She was safe now. Her heart slowed, her eyes became heavy. She turned in her bed, exposing her young, supple legs.

***

     The towel waited from its perch. It could feel the threads slowly slipping off the door knob. The prey had been tricked by this tactic; the smell of fear had dissipated from their skin. The towel was momentarily saddened by this, but the flesh would still be tasty. The moment its prey turned, the towel fell to the ground without a sound. It slithered over the floor and up the bed. If it had eyes they would have gleamed at the sweet delicacy placed before it. In one swift motion the towel encased the meat and pricked its prey to numb it. When the child could no longer feel its legs the towel secreted a clear ooze. The smell, the taste of tender flesh, was pure heaven. If the towel had lips, it would have been smiling from ear to ear.

***

     The next morning Jeff woke up to the sound of Carla screaming.

#fridayflash Flash Fiction

27 responses to “The Flesh Eating Wet Towel #fridayflash #horror”

  1. OK, so I will NEVER leave a wet towel on the floor ever again!

    So glad you wrote this one too. 🙂

  2. The perfect sequel to the last story!

    And I am thinking now I will always dump my towel in the dryer and lock it in.

    1. It’s the only way to truly stay safe.

  3. This is totally true, no-one should ever leave a wet towel lying around on the floor, or on the bed, especially my side of the bed – this will totally happen! Thanks, think I know where you were coming from here, the towel was a great character too.

    1. Yes, the dreaded wet towel. On the bed is the worst! Thanks for commenting. It was fun to vent with this story. Made me smile, instead of huff. LOL

  4. Oh, my – that flesh eating towel takes on a very Grimmsian quality! Great fun!

  5. OMG Lara that’s one creepy story! LOL I’m grimacing and laughing all at once!

    Do wet towels only like young flesh? – I hope so….

    1. Good question. I think they prefer it, but aren’t to picky. After all, flesh is flesh. 😉

  6. Hi there Lara – saw the title to this one and thought, ‘Fantastic, you wrote it!’

    Now got a convenient place to direct all kids who leave Aquatus Towelipidae Carnivorum in its natural hunting habitat. ‘See what will happen…’

    Liked its stealthy intelligence and its biological details. Was this the Lesser Threaded, Bilious Blue, or the Scarlet Horror?

    Alas for Sarah, holy fabric softener is the only thing that works on ’em…

    St.

    1. That is great stuff! You’ve taken that short and really added to it. I can really picture it now on the lastest Discovery Channel episodes.

  7. Haunted evil towel! Now you may have taken it too far, Lara, but only in the humorous dimension. Very different sort of story for you. How did it come about? More family drama with linens?

    1. Yes for sure. Wanted to try my hand at something a little more gruesome and domestic. It took me awhile to figure out how the towel would kill its prey. I didn’t want it to be to crazy, something that could almost be believable. To me, the more realistic, the more scary.

  8. Excellent job extending the Flesh Eating Towels story, Lara. Creepy and funny at the same time. Carla may think twice before inventing monsters to achieve her objectives, huh?

    1. Yeah, she will never be the same now. I’m thinking I should have the towel go on a worldwide rampage. LOL

  9. I commented in part 1 that the story would scar the kids for life, but they would probably be tidier, it seems I was wrong on both counts, things seem to have gone a bit further than that now… 🙂

    1. Yep, hang your towel up or get devoured. LOL

  10. […] The Flesh Eating Wet Towel #fridayflash #horror (laradunning.wordpress.com) […]

  11. That is so creepy that I may never be able to look at a wet towel quite the same way 🙂

    Good job. These new snippets are good and good for you too.

    1. It’s been fun to write more domestic oriented stories. A good distraction from vampires and nice way to vent in a more productive way. 🙂

  12. …I’m so glad I did the laundry before reading this.
    You did another great job here Lara! It’s like a primiative predator. S-C-A-R-Y G–O-O-D.

  13. Hahahaha! This is so funny. It reminds me of a story I read when I was little, about possessed gum that made people chew it. They tried everything to get rid of it, even throwing it out the window, but it always oozed its way back and climbed in the boy’s mouth. I had nightmares about that story for weeks 🙂

    1. That would have given me nightmares too. I was an obessive gum chewer. Had a gum parker to put my gum in after I was done chewing it and saved it for later. That story might have done me some good.

  14. A great sequel. Loved the animalistic descriptions of the towel as it stalked its prey. Not sure I want to walk into the bathroom or near the linen press for fear of being ambushed. Do towels hunt in packs or are they solitary predators?
    Adam B @revhappiness

  15. When I was a kid I wrote a long poem about a “dirty pair of gonch” which is what we called boys underwear out west where I grew up. I had a lot of fun writing that… Who knows what happened to it.

  16. lol. great piece of writing.
    Thanks for posting this encore.

Leave a comment