Golden Nuggets Thrill My Ears #amwriting #writing

   English: Gold :: Locality: Alaska, USA (Locali...

Golden Nuggets Thrill My Ears

“Treat world building as another character.” ~ Nicole Persun

I’ve found that whatever lecture, class or discussion I go to there’s always that tidbit of information that is meant for me to hear in that moment I need to hear it. I write them in the sidebar of my papers and put stars or circles around them. It’s such a great moment.

At one of our Fidalgo Island Writers Guild meetings Nicole Persun talked about the “7 Key Elements in World Building.” Writing fantasy is really complex and there are so many parts that need to be plausible in the world you create. As writers we spend a lot of time developing our characters, but when writing fantasy, the world is like a character.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how to restructure my first novel. It’s a story about a Selkie who lives a long time ago in our world, and has elements of fantasy in it. One thing that needs my attention is the world my character lives and breathes in. I’ve developed a good portion of that in my story, but I need to take it to that next level. I know my characters, but I need to know this world like the back of my hand. It’s a good thing I love editing. 🙂

My new mantra

~Know Your Character, Know Your World~

4 Comments Add yours

  1. SHJ says:

    Can’t believe it? I really was thinking about your Selkie world today and wondering about the color of the landscape and how it felt?….Good idea, one never knows when something from a tidbit collection might come in handy! YM

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      I know, you slogged through the whole thing. I think my next version will be a much easier read. 🙂

  2. And not just fantasy – writing is always about creating another living, breathing world, no matter how “realistic” that world is.

    If you find editing a breeze that sounds like a good start. Impressed (and envious) that you *love* the editing process… For me it’s a real slog!

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Yeah, I really like getting in there and figuring out how to make it flow better. Maybe that is the perfectionist in me. LOL

Leave a Reply

