Writing Exercise ~ Character Confession

Writing Exercise: Character Confession

To develop a better understanding of your character and their motivations write a confession. It can be about a bad deed or feelings about himself or someone else.

Jeremy’s Confession

“You know, I never told anyone this.” Jeremy shifted in his chair. “I was kinda happy when my dad left. I mean, I still missed him and all, but once he left life became way calmer.”

 “Really, how?”

 “Sometimes Dad would come home really late at night. He’d spend hours going over charts and maps and say the craziest stuff.”

 “Like what?”

 “I don’t know, like off the rocker institutional kinda stuff.”

“Did he have mental issues?”

 “He had something man. If he caught you awake, he’d force you to listen to this crazy talk about god and the universe. And then there was the cat thing, I hate to even say it out loud. It sounds so stupid.”

 “What?”

 “He’d go on and on about this giant panther. Said it was stalking him or something. He’d come home, lock all the doors and freak us out. I mean really, this is Indiana, no panthers live here.”

 “That must have been hard. What’d your mother do when that happened?”

 “Usually she send me off to bed. But, his voice was so loud I could still hear him. I’d lay in bed and try to zone it all out, pretend I was somewhere calm and quite. Sometimes I’d wake up for school the next morning and he’d still be talking.” Jeremy ran his finger through his hair. “There are days I really miss him, but most of the time I don’t. Even though Mom works all the time, she seems way happier. I guess dealing with crazy took a lot out of her.”

“What about you?”

“I’m ok, I guess. I’d rather it be like it is now, than go back to how it was.”

~~~

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I really like this exercise Lara, I may have a go at it myself. ^_^

  2. Lara I’m trying out this exercise on my blog and will link back to yours – thanks for sharing. ^_^

  3. I like how you teased out the dialogue and his voice in this.

Leave a Reply

