Write an Ominous Scene #writingexercise #fridayflash

After reading Knots on a Counting Rope our professor had us write an ominous scene with tension from our story.

Writing Exercise ~ Ominous Scene

I hunkered down in the corner and gripped Grandpa’s book.  Soon she would be here and I had no means to fight back. On the wind I could feel her anger raging. It pressed against the windowpane and rattled the glass. My bubble of safety no longer existed, she would come, it was just a matter of time.

I squeezed the book to my chest. Grandpa’s secrets had piled up, one after the other. Now, I was left to try to piece it all together. I sighed and leaned my head against the wall. Grandpa, I need you. His eyes looked straight at me, gauging my will. They held knowledge I didn’t posses. His mouth kept the words I needed to hear locked tight. His ears were deaf to the sound of my voice. I had so many questions and not enough answers.

Darkness hovered at my window. Soon I’d find out if I had the strength to beat it.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Wonderful, as always, Lara! I also want you to know that I nominated you for a Sunshine Award – see:

    http://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/monday-joy-13/

    I don’t tell you often enough how much I enjoy your blog and that I am a regular reader. I have been very lazy about commenting. You are not obliged to accept (I know it can be a pain) – I just wanted you to know that I love your blog.

Leave a Reply

