Antagonist Character Interview by Lara Dunning #writingexercise #vampire #FF

Not quite sure how it happened, but last week slipped by without me posting my antagonist interview. Here it is.

Interview with my character

Queen Farah

By Lara Dunning

Q: Tell me about your past?

A: My past, my human or vampire one?

Q: Let’s start with your human one.

A: Oh, that one. Why does everyone want to know who we were before? What I am now is so much better. The things I’ve seen and done, that human girl could never have done any of that.

Q: Oh really, why?

A: Don’t get me wrong I’m born of royal blood, destined to be Queen, human or not, but that girl, her flaw was her mortality. Death came too soon for everyone back then.

Q: Back then, when and where was that?

A: (sighs) Mesopotamiain its glory days. (she takes a deep breath) I can still smell the flowering gardens my parents had. Anything you craved to eat was in that garden. Every bite of fruit delicious and juicy.

Q: Where are your parents now?

A: They are long dead and buried in the desert along with the rest of us. (narrows eyes)

Q: Were you afraid of your parents?

A: Heavens no. I adored them and my brother Amon, well, when he was alive I did.

Q: Is your brother dead too?

A: (straightens her back) No, he is like me.

Q: Where is your brother now?

A: (squints eyes) Why do I care, he only causes me problems.

Q: Are you afraid of your brother?

A: (laughs from belly) Afraid of my brother?! I am stronger and better than him. I always was and always will be.

Q: Is there anything I need to know?

A: No. (Note: eyes darting to the side)

Q: What’s the most important thing in your life right now?

A: To find that girl and kill her. The blood she carries in her veins is the plague for my kind.

Q: But, she’s just a girl.

A: I thought you were smarter than that. (she pouts, then flashes her fangs) Looks can be deceiving.

Q: Ok, so what are you good at, besides killing people?

A: My father always said I was good at getting what I wanted, so I guess that’s it. I wanted to become Queen and I did.

Q: How did you become Queen?

A: Nice try, but that is another story.

Q: Is it a sad story, one where you cry?

A: (pauses for a moment) Parts of it are sad. I lost my one true love to become what I am. But, I wouldn’t change a thing.

Q: Do you ever cry?

A:  I haven’t cried in thousands of years. Crying is for the weak.

Q: What do you hope nobody ever finds out about you?

A: That too, is another story.

Q: What’s the most important thing in your life right now?

A: Didn’t we already discuss this? That girl needs to die.

Q: Ok, I get it. So say you kill her, what then?

A: (waves hand in the air) Things will continue as they should be and my brother will remain in his place.

Q: In his place? What does that mean?

A: If you’re smart, you’ll figure it out.

Q: Is there something you’re not telling me about Amon?  

A: (covers her mouth with her hand for a moment, the pushes her hair back). No. Why would you ask such a thing?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I love these interviews, Lara. Very cool! I keep thinking that I should do one, too, but I always forget. Perhaps this will inspire me to sit down with my Nathaniel… Perhaps. Not sure he’ll go for it, however.

    -JImmy

  2. Helen says:

    I really enjoyed reading that, I was wondering how you were going with this novel. I think what you have done here is an excellent exercise.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      This exercise really helped me figure out more of their motives and reasons for their behavoirs.

  3. Joan says:

    The character comes across as absolutely chilling, right from the start – she wonders why everyone wants to know ‘who we were before …’ And the rest of the interview shows that even the most chilling of characters has problems …

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Thanks Joan! She definatley has some deep rooted issues. LOL

Leave a Reply

