Character Interview by Lara Dunning #WW #FF #fridayflash #vampire

In my MFA class we’ve been doing a lot of great exercises to help us understand our characters and their motivations better. Thought I’d post this for my protagonist this week and my antagonist next week.

Interview with my character LeVella Hart

By Lara Dunning

Q: Tell me about your past?

A: Like what? My crazy Grandpa, my destiny or the cookie cutters at school?

Q: Tell me about your Grandpa.

A: He was the best. We did everything together.

Q: What about your parents, where were they?

A: They were there, ya know. It’s just that they are in their own world. They have this bond that makes me the odd person out. But, Grandpa and I had a connection. We got each other. Can we talk about something else now?

Q: Sure, what are you afraid of?

A: Geez, really? Afraid. We’ll I’m afraid that everyone I care about is going to die because I’m this Blood Moon Child. If I lost Jeremy I don’t know what I’d do.

Q: Why is Jeremy so important to you?

A: Jer’s my best friends. We’ve been friends, like, since the 6th grade. He’s the only one besides Grandpa that gets me. Everyone else at school is beyond lame.

Q: Is there anything I need to know?

A: No. (Note: eyes darting to the side)

Q: What’s the most important thing in your life right now? 

A: Uh…I guess being the person Grandpa thought I was. You know, independent and strong.

Q: What are you really good at?

A: Well, besides the smarts I got up here (points to top of head) I’m good at researching things. Like this whole vampire thing. Jer and I spent hours after school researching places to go and stuff. It was fun, uncovering history. After doing that I think I know why my Grandpa became an archeologist.

Q: Oh yeah, where is your Grandpa now?

A: He died. (Note: looks sullen) Can we talk about something else?

Q: Sure, do you ever cry?

A: Dude, that is so not a better question. Of course I cry. 

Q: What do you cry about?

A:  (Note: shifts uncomfortably) I dunno. Things. My Grandpa dying, the kids at school, you know.

Q: What do you hope nobody ever finds out about you?

A: How lonely I am. Sometimes I just feel so out of place, you know, like I’ll never fit in anywhere.

Q: What’s the most important thing in your life right now?

A: I guess figuring out who I am and what this whole Blood Moon Child thing means. Is it going to put everyone I love in danger for the rest of their lives? I don’t know if I could handle that.

Q:What do you want to do with the rest of your life?

A: Dude, I can’t even think about that right now. I just have to get through this and then I can think about the rest of my life.

Q: But, what if you make it through this. What then?

A: Hmmmm…I don’t know. Go to college I guess. Study history or something like that. Wouldn’t it be cool if Jer and I went to the same college.

Q: That would be cool. Is there something you’re not telling me about Jeremy?

A: Ahh…kind of. (Note: scrunches face) I sorta think I’m in love with him.

Q: Wow, does he know?

A: Of course not. While his life is in danger that’s not even an option.

Q: Oh, I see. What do you think his feelings are for you?

A:  (Note: shakes head) I don’t want to think about that right now, can we change the subject.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. SHJ says:

    Great exercise! Very insightful.. and real..keep up the good work! YM

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Carmen has us doing a ton of great stuff. Thanks, YD

  2. A nice way to introduce characters. They often tell you more than you expect.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Yes, and sometimes they like hide things from you! LOL

  3. Aidan Fritz says:

    You do a great job of capturing her voice in this.

  4. Joan says:

    I can see what a very useful exercise something like this could be. It could be a sort of springboard, and things could change, of course, as you went on and your character grows and changes.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      I’ve had alot of fun with Carmen’s exercises. Also found out things about my charaters I didn’t know. Always good.

Leave a Reply

