The Long Drive Home #poetry #poem

English: Trakia highway at night
Image via Wikipedia

The Long Drive Home

I traverse the line between reality and moments

Moments of words, prose and poetry

Moments that will sustain me

On this dark, winding black ribbon

The blinding lights reinforce

I am an outsider now

I resist, The alien landscape pulls

How can I ever go back to the Real World?



15 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    Very nice, so easy to get lost in writing words!

  2. So rhythmic and flowing like a long drive home. Nice job.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Thanks Kathleen. I know there is a lot I need to learn about poetry, but even still I have to write something down.

  3. Sean Vessey says:

    Very easy to get back to the written worlds with a wave of the pen!!

    Enjoyable poem. It is hard to go back to the real when you have enjoyed the worlds you have made.

    It sounds like the writing seminars were great!

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      They are and still are. Sunday is the last day. Lots to take in and digest. Loving it!

  4. Lara, this shows you lovely voice. Hope your seminars were productive … the learning process is so vital to what we want to do :)

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Undertaking this was the right thing to do. Still have a few more days, but I have found my home. It brings a tear to my eye. :)

  5. What an interesting perspective! I love it, Lara.


    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Thanks James. The past few days have solidfied my choice. I have found my people.

  6. Always a rich aesthetic! I love the way this poem ends. A nice contrast and a strong tug, away from reality or toward something else? Leaves the reader with a great question! Nice poem!

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Thanks Jason. I find traveling home each nice like returning to a homeland that is familar and unfamiliar at the same time.

  7. Aidan Fritz says:

    I like the profound turn at the end. Best wishes digesting everything and making the real world your world.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Aidan, I miss it already. I want that world to be the real world. It took me a couple of days for my brain to adjust. Very strange feeling.

  8. LOL! What a great kiss! -Susan.

Leave a Reply

