Oktoberfest, Drindls and Beer ~ A Reason to Wear My Drindl

Taken by Chris Terrell

Oktoberfest, Drindls and Beer

      This year I volunteered to be on the Anacortes Oktoberfest Committee. I didn’t join for the BEER, I joined so I had a reason to don my DRINDL. I have an authentic drindl from Austria that I purchased a couple of years ago. I love it. Let’s face it, I could only wear it so many times for Halloween before my friends started giving me the “Really?” stare. But, for Oktoberfest it is completely and unabashedly appropriate.

     So, needless to say this weekend was bad for writing, but good for looking German. I spent Friday and Saturday down at the Oktoberfest “Bier on the Pier” helping set up, greeting attendees, eating good food, drinking a little beer (really, I’m not a beer drinker) and cleaning up. I really wished I had brushed up on my German and learned a few drinking songs. I’m putting that on my list for next year. If you’re in the Pacific Northwest next October my article “Oktoberfest “Bier on the Pier” in Anacortes, Washington” highlights the event.

     Now that I’ve spent most of Sunday recuperating I hope to spend the rest of the week writing and catching up on #fridayflash.  

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    You look very fetching and just the part! ^_^

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Thanks, so much fun!

  2. SHJ says:

    Darling outfit! Enjoyed your article..sounds like a lot of fun! YM

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Thank you. I love it. So much fun to wear.

  3. Love the fall and the whole October-fest theme. Great outfit. I think I’ll head to Anacortes! Also love your website.

    Mary Ann Hayes
    http://www.maryannhayes@gmail.com

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Thanks Mary Ann. It’s an authentic dirndl from Austira. Gotta love ebay! Anacortes is a wonderful town.

Leave a Reply

