Wayback Wednesday Photo Writing Prompt ~ Remorse #fridayflash #WW #mywana

The Land Baby
Image via Wikipedia

Wayback Wednesday Photo Writing Prompt

Write a story, write a drabble, write a poem, write anything. If this inspires you drop me a link to your post in the comments, or send it to me on Twitter.

Remorse

     A young child wandered up to me. It was soaked in blood. Blood I had spilled with a smile on my face. The babe held its tiny hand out, its eyes searching for tenderness. I remained still, like the stone I had been for centuries, hoping it would pass me by. Behind it on the street its mother lay disembodied, her arms torn from the sockets and her stomach ripped in half. Hadn’t the babe seen me kill its parents?

     The child wobbled on its feet over body parts toward my tail. Its small hand gripped tightly as it made its way up to my waist. The centuries of being frozen seemed to melt away under the babe’s warm fingertips. The child’s eyes peered up at me, soft and round. There was no hatred of those that had entombed me, only love.

     Something inside me clicked. The rage subsided. Could this child drown out the years of frozen torment? I pushed my clumped and matted hair off my shoulders. Sweat and blood dripped down my chest. The child touched the skin on my belly and without hesitation I reached down and picked it up. Coo’s and ahh’s babbled from its round mouth.

     The town was quiet and still, no sound ushered forth from anything. I had killed them all. The carnage brought a dull ache in my chest. Closing my eyes I listened to waves breaking on the shore in the distance. A sound so familiar, so primal, it lulled me to it. With the child in my arms I slithered back down the street leaving a trail of red streaks. The babe pointed to the blue sea and laughed.

    I squeezed its warm body to me and let my finger trail underneath its cherubic chin. You are now one of us.

Read Other Stories From Same Visual Prompt

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    Oh so glad you didn’t kill the child but took it with her. The first surge of rage finally dying down. It’s good that she felt remorse – two wrongs don’t make a right I guess.

    Lovely trilogy Lara – really enjoyed it!

    Love this picture – I feel a Drabble coming on! ^__^

  2. clarbojahn says:

    Not sure I could write to that but you did a great job. Loved reading what you wrote. Thanks for posting it.

  3. Hi there Lara —

    Interesting seeing this sequence of posts develop: Rage, Retribution, Remorse.

    ‘You’re now one of us’ did leave the rather large question of ‘how’. Will you push the serial to a quartet, or is this where you put down the pen? 🙂

    St.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Yes I’ve got an idea for the next one, but i’m not sure it will answer the how.

  4. Anne Michaud says:

    I absolutely loved it – creepy and sordid, my fav of yours so far:)

  5. W. J. Howard says:

    I loved how you started with “Hadn’t the babe seen me kill its parents?” and turned the creatures hatred from there.

  6. Steve Green says:

    The village has certainly paid a terrible price to this creature, even the orphan, although still alive, is lost.

    The first paragraph is an absolute cracker Lara.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      She is lost, but also found.

  7. Helen says:

    This photo was the inspiration for my Monday Drabble – thanks for sharing it Lara!

    You can read it here:

    http://helen-scribbles.com/2011/09/19/land-baby-monday-drabble-a-story-in-100-words/

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Sweet story. I just love that picture. Glad you liked it to. Put a link on the page to your drabble.

  8. Wow. Especially having read Remembering before this, this was very interesting, and quite unique. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

