Wayback Wednesday Writing Photo Prompt ~ Entrapment ~ #WW #fridayflash #MYWANA

Wayback Wednesday Photo Writing Prompt

Write a story, write a drabble, write a poem, write anything. If this inspires you drop me a link to your post in the comments, or send it to me on Twitter.

via Flickry by lonnypaul

 Entrapment

     They despised me because of what I am. Part human, part animal; I wasn’t part of their world, so they trapped me. wWhen the light shimmers on the water at sunsent, it reminds me of that fateful day they lured me with their beautiful music. The sound was so enchanting I didn’t notice the net being dropped down around me. I struggled, but it only cinched it tighter. Before I knew it, they had me strapped to the end of the pier.

     A man in long, black robes flicked water onto my scales. His voice vibrated through the air. At first nothing happened, but then a twitch in my tail caught my attention. Where the water dropped my tail had turned cold and grey. The man snickered, cursing me with his dark eyes. Behind him the crowd cheered and craned their necks to see the grey creep up my tail toward my chest. Wherever it touched, my body went cold and numb.

     I screamed and tried to loosen the rope that bound me, but that only made the crowd taunt me more. The coldness enclosed around my throat squelching any voice I had left. I gazed down at the water. My home was only inches away, yet I couldn’t reach it. Frozen I knew struggle was useless, I was trapped.   

     Hatred, like none I had ever felt before, boiled deep within me. When the cold circled my eyes I kept my lids open. I wanted everyone of them to look into my eyes and see what they’d done.  That way, the day I’m free to take my revenge, they will know why.

#fridayflash

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Ha ha! Get ’em girl!

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Yes, I believe she will. 🙂

  2. Touching and strong, I loved this prompt. Your voice get stronger each week. Thanks, Lara 🙂

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      @Helen Scribbles They will pay. Muhahaha

      @Kwee Lewis They sure did her in.

      @Florence Fois This prompt was fun. I wanted to find something a little different than what I’d been using. A hour surfing throught google image gave me this. Thanks.

  3. Kwee Lewis says:

    Wow! I’m on her side! So much conveyed so well! I am still buzzing with the emotion. Dang, I’m ready to help her get free!

  4. Helen says:

    Oh that was very intense Lara. Poor mermaid, such horrible people. See how well you wrote this, I thinking its real! ^__^

  5. Chuck Allen says:

    I don’t think I want to be around when she gets her revenge. Great story, Lara!

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      @SoniaLal Yes, its this weeks #fridayflash. I think I’ll also do one from her eyes.

      @Chuck Allen I think her revenge will be tasty, or at least bloody.

  6. Sonia Lal says:

    Poor thing! I want her to free and the revenge is another story huh?

  7. Hi there Lara – Good story. They may have created a small problem for themselves in the future. That’s one annoyed mermaid. St.

Leave a Reply

