The Wet Towel Strikes Again! #fridayflash

a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, top slice ...
Image via Wikipedia

 

The Wet Towel Strikes Again

     Emma entered the cafeteria; it smelled like sour milk and french fries. Her eyes darted across the room searching for Suzie. Kids milled around the lunch tables, chattering and laughing. Suzie was nowhere to be seen. Emma decided to sit at “their” table and began munching away on her PB&J and Cheetos sammy. The crunch of the Cheetos were so loud in Emma’s head she didn’t even notice the hush that came over the lunch room. Half way through her meal Suzie plopped down beside her and nudged her arm.

“Em, you hear about Vi’s cousin?”

     Emma shook her head no. She had noticed Violet hadn’t been at school today, but since they weren’t besties she never bothered to ask why.

“Oh my god, you are so gonna freak. Vi spent the night at her cousins’ house this weekend and her cousin left her wet towel on the floor!”

“So.” Emma took another bite of her sandwich, peanut butter smeared across her check.

Suzie’s mouth dropped. “Her cousin’s dead.”

Emma eyed her friend. “Dead?”

Suzie cupped her hand next to her ear. “The towel ate most of her body.” She sat back, her hands moved as much as her mouth. “Vi saw the bloody blob that was left and totally freaked.”

Emma gazed at her friend; there was no denying the serious look on her face. “Really?”

Suzie nodded. “That’s why she isn’t here today.” Suzie opened her milk. “I’m so hanging up my towel from now on.”

     Emma’s throat tightened. Last night she had been annoyed with her mother for always harassing her to hang up her wet towel and left it on the bathroom floor on purpose. But, before bed, she changed her mind and hung it up. Had she saved herself from being eaten?

“Me too.”

18 Comments Add yours

  1. FARfetched says:

    Heh, I don’t leave wet towels on the floor either!

  2. Icy Sedgwick says:

    I haven’t left wet towels on the floor since I read the first one!

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      @FARfestched @IcySedgwick Good, you’ve mastered the first rule to not being eaten by your towel. Hang it securely. 🙂

  3. John Pender says:

    Ha! If I ever have kids I’m using this one. Maybe even tell them their hamper will eat them if they don’t feed it their clothes. Great story.
    You left out antiseptic … sour milk, french fries and antiseptic. Gave me the willies thinking about that odor that wafts over you when you walk into a child care facility.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Yeah, that smell. blah. Hampers a good one. It could suck you in like a venus fly trap.

  4. Lara, you have an interesting sense of humor and teenagers! Loved this 🙂

  5. Aidan Fritz says:

    Reminds me a lot of high school and the way stories spread. Back when I was young, my dad ran a campground summers. You made sure you hung up your towels and even then you gave them a good shake when you grabbed them. Seems earwigs liked the moisture and would even climb the clothesline to get there.

  6. Steve Green says:

    The flesh-eating towel goes on the hunt again…

    These stories could possibly spark an epidemic of tidier children, or hungrier towles. 🙂

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      @FlorenceFois That’s one fun thing about being a writer. I can turn my pet peeves into storyies. Muhahaha

      @AidanFritz I wanted to give it that rumor mill vibe. Earwigs give me the creeps. I’d definately be hanging up my towel at that camp.

      @SteveGreen Tidier children = happier parents. Maybe my towel will strike in another country next.

  7. That’s a good story to pass along to always get kids to hang up their towels. I’m glad I never got in the habit of leaving mine on the floor. Good story!

  8. Kwee Lewis says:

    Great! I wonder if this story would have an impact on my 21 year old son? Hmmm. Great, entertaining story! Thank you!

  9. I am SOOO reading this to my kids!

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      @EricJKrause Anything that works, right? 🙂

      @KweeLewis It might. Thanks!

      @AppleArdentScott Let me know what happens. Thanks for commenting.

  10. Helen says:

    I’m never leaving my towel on the floor again! I’ve got the message ^__^

  11. dannigrrl says:

    I think I’ll be reading this to my daughter. Her towel was balled up on her counter this morning. A little scare never hurt anyone. 😉

  12. Hi there Lara — I keep a tame towel in a cage. I feed it steak. 🙂

    I’m hoping those kids go investigate ‘the old towel factory’ on the outskirts of town (cycling there, of course), are the only ones who know what’s slithering its way out of the locker room, or try to warn the town nay-sayers to no avail. lol. St.

  13. The whole family enjoyed this one! Great story!

  14. Lara Dunning says:

    @HelenScribbles It will come for you. It is hungry. LOL

    @dannigrrl That’s for sure. Let me know what happens.

    @StephenHewitt Good stuff there. I like where you took it. 🙂

    @differentoutcomes Thanks Jason!

Leave a Reply

