Wayback Wednesday Writing Photo Prompt ~ A Moment Frozen in Time #WW #myWANA #fridayflash

Wayback Wednesday Photo Writing Prompt

Write a story, write a drabble, write a poem, write anything. If this inspires you drop me a link to your post in the comments, or send it to me on Twitter.

 A Moment Frozen in Time

     Sara’s bridesmaids chatted around her. Their high-pitched voices were filled with such excitement. Today, their dearest friend was getting married. Something they believed made you whole. Sara eyed them, wishing she could be part of their happiness. Everyone told her today would be the best day of her life, but she felt like it was the end.

     The photographer shooed the bridesmaids away and began snapping pictures. Sara sat there distraught at her predicament. From this point on she’d be strapped to Harry, a man of few words and little laughter. She had wanted to marry Paul, but when Sara saw the look of disappointment in her parent’s eyes she knew they’d never approve. They spoke about Harry like he was the rising sun and finally she succumbed.

The photographer moved the veil in front of her delicate shoulders. “Give us a smile Sara, this is the best day of your life.”

Sara glared at him, her eyes full of disdain. “I’ll tell you what I told my mother. Just because I’m getting married, doesn’t mean I have to like it.”

      The photographer pulled away from his camera to assess her. Sara noticed the look of pity on his face and realized he understood.

She reached out her thin hand, it trembled. “Help me please. I can’t bare to think of my life with him.”

The photographer raised one eyebrow. “I can help you, if you so desire.”

“I’ll do anything, just get me out of here, please.”

The photographer’s eyes gleamed. “Sit still for a moment and let me freeze this moment in time.”

     Happiness exploded through every part of her being. This dress would no longer confine her, this stifling church wouldn’t bare witness to a marriage she would regret for the rest of her life. This picture would remind her of the choice she’d made to be free.

The photographer winked. “Give me your best smile.”

Sara flashed a smile that lit up the entire room. At the same moment the picture snapped, the photographer sneered. It was the last thing Sara remembered before she disappeared.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Holy Mother of Pearl! I got such goose bumps my whole body chilled. Gees, you’re great at this 🙂

  2. Now that was intriguing. Liked his “Give us a smile Sara, this is the best day of your life.” And the last thing you want to see is somebody sneering as they press a button… St.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      At first I was going to make it sweet, but then I thought naw…sinister is better. muhahaha

  3. Helen says:

    Oh this was intriguing, I wondered why she had succumb to her parents wishes and what a bore the Harry must have been to make her feel that way. Then you surprise us by giving her the option of opting out, but what a way to go!

    Nice one Lara. Love the photo too!

  4. Richard Bon says:

    Sounds like she would’ve been better off with Harry after all! I enjoyed this, the photographer was one sick puppy.

  5. Kwee Lewis says:

    Oh wow. Wonderfully creepy done so very well!

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      @HelenScribles The photo is great. I think its a magazine ad. Not sure how a glum looking girl would sell a wedding dress, but she sure gave me a story to write.

      @RichardBon I thought about having a ending blurb with the photographer, but decided to leave it opened ended so the reader could decide. Thanks for commenting!

      @KweeLewis Thank you.

  6. Chuck Allen says:

    Excellent ending! Remind me to be careful what I ask of photographers in the future. 🙂

  7. Shahnaz says:

    Noooooooo, ok, maybe they ran away together?

  8. Very cool story! Creepy. At least she won’t have to be unhappy in marriage for the rest of her life…

  9. John Wiswell says:

    A lot of projection, maybe even to the point of the creepiness Eric felt. Though I like Shahnaz’s hopes…

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      @ChuckAllen Ha ha! Thanks.

      @Shahnaz It’s good to dream.

      @EricJKrause That’s for sure. Thanks.

      @JohnWiswell Thank you.

Leave a Reply

