Wayback Wednesday Writing Photo Promp ~ Postcards From Paris #WW #fridayflash The Girls

Wayback Wednesday Photo Writing Prompt

Write a story, write a drabble, write a poem, write anything. If this inspires you drop me a link to your post in the comments, or send it to me on Twitter.

By Vintage Lulu via Flickr

Postcards from Paris

Dearest Louise,

     Margaret and I miss you dearly. Our lives back in England seem such a bore. We dread the thought of you back there in the dreariness all alone. Here in Paris, life is beyond grand. So vivid, so gay. Parties, dancing, amour. Our days aren’t lacking in excitement, always somewhere to go or someone to meet. By the way, we’ve met the perfect fellow for you. His name is Andre. He’s handsome and well spoken, but has a wild streak his parents throughly disapprove of, which of course makes us adore him even more. He  desperately wants to meet you. When shall we expect you? You must come soon. Papa has given us enough money to last through the holidays so your expenses will be little. Please write soon.

     The Sisters, Adrienne and Margaret

Dearest Adrienne and Margaret,

     Your letter brought me endless joy. I ran to Papa that day and begged him to let me go immediately. After some discussion he gave in. In two days time I’ll be on my way. I’ve already started packing my trunk. Oh, I can’t wait to see you both. Without you here my life has become quite drab. The only person around my age  to talk to is Adam, and well, you know what he’s like. Andre sounds like an interesting fellow. Tell him I look forward to meeting him. Oh dear, Mama’s calling for me. She’s having a few old biddy’s over for tea. If it wasn’t for Old Lady Violet, the afternoon would be a complete bore. Expect me on the 4th.

     Bored in England, Louise

 

Related Links

Girls Just Want to Have Fun! by Helen Scribles

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura,

    Nice. I love the photo. It seems like they are drinking coffee, so what’s with the giant bottle of seltzer nearby?

    It seems like the Wayback Wednesday challenge would be to write in period. Not that I could manage it, but “So vivid, so gay. Parties, dancing, amour.” sounds like it fits, while “By the way…” in the next sentence doesn’t. I’d have to read a million pounds of Jane Austen before I could channel this period, I’m sure.

    Cheers,

    Ben.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Hi Ben. Thanks for commenting. Re-read it. You’re right, that sentence felt a little off. Changed it a bit. I love this photo too. Not sure what that bottle of Seltzer is for either?

  2. Am busy with the online conference of Writeoncon. Mostly YA and MG but lots of generic info about queries, publishing and authors. Got my next PB up for a critique and also am getting a crit on my query letter. Never know!

    Love your letter exchange. So light and fun. Wouldn’t change a thing.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Once I had written the first letter. I had to write the second letter. Good luck with your queries.

  3. Helen says:

    The letter exchange suited the picture perfectly. I enjoyed reading them.

    Love the photograph may even try a drabble with it next Monday, if I do I’ll post you links 😉

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      The photograph is fun. The moment I saw it I knew I had to use it.

  4. Hi there Lara — I really enjoyed this one. I liked the period feel, the two halves as letters and Andre’s wild streak.

    Also liked the look of that cafe.

    Will be arriving post-haste on the on the Lusitania. St.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      This photo said so much. So many stories could be written from this. Thanks for your comments!

  5. Sonia Lal says:

    I liked the vintage sound of this and also how the two letters go together. But I have to wonder if the guy with the wild streak really will be all that good a match. LOL

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      He’ll surely be a lot of fun!

  6. Helen says:

    Hi Lara my drabble is posted using your photo prompt and I have linked back to this page. It’s called ‘Girls just wanna have fun!’
    http://helen-scribbles.com/2011/08/22/girls-just-wanna-have-fun-monday-drabble-a-story-in-100-words/

Leave a Reply

