Wayback Wednesday Writing Photo Prompt ~ A Blessing in Disguise #WW #fridayflash #myWANA

Wayback Wednesday Photo Writing Prompt

Write a story, write a drabble, write a poem, write anything. If this inspires you drop me a link to your post in the comments, or send it to me on Twitter.

Vintage real photo postcard, 1908, uncirculated, divided back with azo stampbox with triangles up in all corners, photograph by J.L. Blessing, published by The Blessing Studio, Salamanca, New York, United States. © Casas-Rodríguez Collection, 2009.

I love history and culture. I received my BA in Anthroplogy and attended Graduate School for Indigenous Studies. You are now probably saying “Ah-ha” right now as my first photo was of a Geisha and this weeks is of a Seneca (Iroquois) woman.  In the type at the bottom of the photo it states her name is Ah-Weh-Eyu – Pretty Flower.

A Blessing In Disguise

Photo Log: Sept 1908
 
Pretty Flower has changed my life. She is like the Mona Lisa with eyes that haunt and charm. Never have I seen such beauty and modesty. If she would have had me for her husband I would have brought her home, no matter what mother said. But, Pretty Flower refused all my advances. As a token of my affection I only produced two photographs. One for her and one for me. As I write this, it rests inside my front coat pocket. Whenever my spirits are low I look at it and remember Pretty Flower.  
 
 
15 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    Oh that was lovely! So sweet. Love the photo think I will use it for Monday Drabble will give you a link when I do it. ^_^

  2. Great post … in Northern Manhattan the Inwood Hills contain the remnants of the Indian culture that occupied the land before we “claimed” it.

    Her tribe lived in the Indian caves that cling to the rocky cliffs in Northern Manhattan. At night if you stand perfectly still you can still hear the songs they sang by the river.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Very interesting, didn’t know that. Love that kind of stuff. 🙂

  3. Hi there Lara — short, sweet, I like it. Photo could’ve been taken yesterday. St

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      @johnwiswell Her features are very handsome, as they would say back then, her eyes are soft and kind
      @stephenhewitt Wanted to give it a diary type feel. Short and sweet definately worked for that.

  4. John Wiswell says:

    She really is pretty as a postcard! Lovely inspiration.

  5. Helen says:

    Hi Lara, thanks for the inspriation with this photo, I have now posted it and my drabble on my blog with a link back to this page of your blog.

    http://helen-scribbles.com/2011/08/08/she-waits-monday-drabble/

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Checked it out. I like how we both wrote about love.

  6. Anthony says:

    Very lovely and in such a small package.

  7. brainhaze says:

    Lovely post – and the photo – great work

  8. Kay Stewart says:

    I have a photo of Ah Weh Eyea 1908 by Blessing. She is standing by a canoe and has on the same outfit. A beautiful lady.

    1. cheri mancuso says:

      My grandfather took all of her pictures J Lynn Blessing. Would you be willing to sell any original Blessing pictures of her
      Cheri Blessing Mancuso
      Salamanca, NY

      1. Lara Dunning says:

        Hello. That is so cool! I got that image off of the creative commons site. I would check there. Warm regards, Lara

Leave a Reply

