Wayback Wednesday Photo Writing Prompt #WW Snow Angels #fridayflash #myWANA

Visual Writing Prompt

     My recent Goldfish for Dinner #fridayflash was inspired by a goldfish vase I saw on Antiques Roadshow. This has put me in the mood to start posting visual writing prompts using old photographs.

     Write a story, write a drabble, write a poem, write anything. If this inspires you drop me a link to your post in the comments, or send it to me on Twitter.

Via Flickr by freeparking

Snow Angels

     Josie held tight to her sister Amelie. It had been weeks since the poor thing had been outside. The sisters spent hours making snow angels and running through the powdery landscape. Everything looked pure, almost magical, it was easy to forget that a darkness hung over Amelie.

Their mother opened the back door. “Girls its time to come in and help me with dinner!” Both girls sighed.

“One more snow angel please!”

“One more, then its time to come in.” The tone in her voice let them know she wasn’t joking.

     Excited the girls ran over to a patch of untrampled snow and fell on their backs. Legs and arms moved up and down, giggles escaped from their lips. Afterward they stood up to admire their shapes in the snow.

Amelie leaned against her sister. “Do you think that’s how they’ll look when they come for me?”

Josie wrapped her arm around her sister’s shoulder. “When who comes for you?”

“The angels.”

Josie’s heart ached with a pain she could not describe. “These are Snow Angels, not God’s Angels.”

Amelie was quiet for a moment, then her breath filled the air with white puffs. “I hope Snow Angels come for me.”

“Why?”

“Snow Angles are magical. They will help me take this memory with me when I go. Then this day will always be with me.”

Josie hugged her sister close. Tears welled up in her eyes. “You’re not going anywhere.”

     Later that night Josie heard a noise outside. She kneeled in front of her bedroom window and rubbed the frost off. Amelie stood where they had made their snow angels earlier that day. A shimmery, white form stood next to her, its arms embraced her.

Josie heart beat fast. She screamed and banged on the window. “No! She’s too young! You can’t take her, take me!”

     As if sensing her sister, Amelie turned her head and smiled. Her young, chubby face was white as snow. The white shape pressed against her back and the two vanished into the night. Josie ran to her sister’s room. Amelie lay in bed with her favorite quilt wrapped around her.  Josie grabbed her hand, it was cold as ice. She went to touch her sisters face and noticed tiny snowflakes dotted her eye lashes and cheeks. She pressed her sister’s hand to her lips and kissed it. There was no life left in her. Josie’s chest heaved with the weight of a hundred snow drifts.

“Dear Amelie, your wish came true, the Snow Angles came for you. That will make two of us, who will always remember this day.” 

Photo Writing Prompt #fridayflash

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Lara, this is beautiful and sad and I loved it dearly. I have a passion for angels … believing they are among us in so many ways. Making snow angels brings me to a memory of the middle of the night in Washington Heights in Northern Manhattan. Snow had been falling for hours … my girlfriend across the street shouted up at my window and all the kids ran down to enjoy the yet untouched snow.

    Slow in moving, I looked out and my little daughter and my friends daughter had just gotten up and we all looked at their snow angels … it’s one of my favorite memories of my kids growing up … Thanks for bringing “that” memory back to me 🙂

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      What a wonderful memory 🙂 Thanks for sharing that with me.

  2. Leslie Rose says:

    Wonderful sweetness, both in story and picture. Thank you.

  3. I like this type of thing — taking a common idea and giving it a magical twist. Liked the snow angel leaving her cold and touched with snowflakes. St.

  4. Helen says:

    Oh my goodness, I have tears in my eyes. Beautifully written to pull on the heartstrings of those who read.

  5. Chuck Allen says:

    I really love this story, Lara. So touching and magical.

  6. Sonia Lal says:

    Beautiful writing! I really like this story, so sweet and magical.

Leave a Reply

