The Versatile Blogger Award Acceptance Speech

The Versatile Blogger Award Acceptance Speech

Eh..em…(I’d be straightening my tie here, if I wore ties) I graciously accept this award and thank all those who made it possible. (Deep bow)

The wonderful and versatile Chuck Allen and Helen Scribbles passed The Versatile Blogger Award on to me. This is my first time winning it, so yes, it is a big deal and a hearty round of “Thank You’s’ goes out to both of them.

Now, (rubs hand together) let’s get on to the good stuff. I’ve been thinking about what “Little Known Facts” to post all weekend. I hope I don’t disappoint.

  1. I’ve picked worms out of fish flesh for a living. For three years in my early twenties I worked at a fish processing plant (Trident Seafoods) on a small island in the Aleutian Chain in Alaska. I spent two seasons picking worms out of cod flesh. Besides being gross, this job was boring and mindless. I don’t eat cod anymore. That brown spot your mother told you “was just part of the fish” and “you should just eat it.” Well, she was so wrong.
  2. In college I posed for art classes. The best part of the class was perusing the drawings during break. Nothing quite like seeing yourself on a large piece of paper. I guess you could say I’m a little vain. Why does no one commission huge portraits anymore?
  3. My two favorite kids movies are The Never Ending Story and The Dark Crystal. Recently, my front tooth was infected. The only good thing about this was I looked like a Gelfling. Sadly, I didn’t have wings, as all girl Gelflings do. In regards to The Never Ending Story to this day I still have no idea what name Bastian yells at the end. Do you?
  4. In high school one of my poems was published in a collection. I have lost this poem and the name of the collection. I can only remember the first couple of lines. ‘I’m in my own imprisoned cage with ties that are unbinding. I sit and wait for the break of day to see if it will find me.’ The rest is a jumble in my head.
  5. I refuse to eat any kind of bi-valve. Anything where you not only eat the flesh, but the guts as well is not for me. I leave that kind of eating to Andrew Zimmern. Unless, someone tricks me. Yes, that has happened. *Eyes squinting*
  6. I know how to weld. The last two seasons at the fish cannery I worked at the fish meal plant. Which was a much better job than picking worms. It was warm, dry and best of all you had to use your brain. During the summer I learned how to weld by fabricating tables we needed or fixing popped welds. Strangely, I don’t like the feel of metal.
  7. I love opera. There is something about opera that deeply moves me. Certain voices will give me goosebumps. A few years ago I saw Madame Butterfly. Wonderful, but super, duper depressing. That is an opera I could only see once.

Now that I have exposed myself, here is a my list of versatile writers.

  1. Florence Fois at Fois in the City – Florence is on Twitter, but most of our contact is via our WordPress blogs. I’m always impressed with the versatility of her posts. She shares her poems, her thoughts and memories, she posts her daughters’ fab photos, her love of New York City always shines, she discusses a wide range of important topics (not just writer related) and most of all is a fun and engaging blogger.
  2. Justin Davies at The Flying Scribbler – My first introduction to Justin’s work was his #fridayflash ‘The Mythical Creatures Employment Exchange.’ For those of you that missed this, it is a must read. The way Justin combined humor with political commentary and then related it all to mythical creatures was just amazing. It had me coming back every week and laughing. When that series ended I wondered what Justin would write next. I was pleasantly surprised with a new flash ‘Arabesque’ that was completely different, but just as captivating.
  3. Steve Green at The Twisted Quill – Steve’s posts are all #fridayflash, but he doesn’t stick to one genre. This versatile fiction writer has an imagination that hits on all subjects, from zombies, to cops and robbers and can even make a hamster scary. 
  4. Amy Rose Davis at Modicum of Talent – Since I reviewed Amy’s book Ravenmarked and did an author interview with her I always go back to her inspiring use of dialogue in her story telling.  Not only can she write an epic fantasy tale, but weave the words in such a way that each character stands strong. Amy is also versatile with her blog where she posts Mythic Mondays, Randomness,  her Deception at Sea chapters and she gives great advice to writers.
  5. Clar Bowman-Jahn at Clarbojahn’s Blog – Soon to be published children’s book author is very versatile. On her blog she posts author interviews, writing tips, book club updates and travel logs.

Congrats, you have been chosen for The Versatile Blogger Award!

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    I laughed out loud at your first reveal about yourself, what a weird job! I too love Dark Crystal!

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Such a great movie and plot. My sister always wanted Fizgig as her pet.

  2. EllieAnn says:

    You know how to weld! You’re an incredible girl. Looking forward to reading your posts!

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Thanks for stopping by Ellie! Looking forward to reading yours too.

  3. christicorbett says:

    Thanks for sharing such fun facts about yourself! It’s always fun to get to know the person behind the blog.

    I find myself humming the theme to “Never ending story” about once a year. It sticks in my head and won’t let go for about a week straight.

    Christi Corbett
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      My hubbie and I call the continous circle on the computer screen The Never Ending Circle. Then we start singing the song.

  4. clarbojahn says:

    You are so interesting! I loved your little known facts. And a big thank you for the versatile blogger award. Now to figure out how to put the image onto my blog, write the seven little known facts about me and pass it on to five others. How do you put the image on your own blog?

  5. Lara Dunning says:

    You’re welcome. Just save it to your desktop as a jpg and choose it when you go to add a image icon. Looking foward to reading your “Little Known Facts”

  6. Chuck Allen says:

    Wow. That is some interesting stuff there. And they show even further how versatile you are. Welding? Impressive! Worms and fish? Yuck. 🙂

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      I decided to go the route you did and divuldge things folks on the internet would not know. Yeah, I definately don’t miss the slime line.

  7. John Wiswell says:

    I’m now a little happier for having never eaten cod.

  8. Leslie Rose says:

    Welding, worm picking, and opera! Your are truly a Renaissance woman.

  9. mbwilliams says:

    A well deserved award…Bastian shouts out the name of his late mother. I think in the book of the Never Ending Story it tells you what her name was…I’ll look it up and get back to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

