Red #fridayflash #samplesunday

 

Red

     Red was her favorite color. Inside her closet her clothes were all different shades of red, from dark to eye-popping. Her shoes were arranged in one red line. She painted her toenails red and dyed her hair red. If she was a model in a magazine she would have requested to be draped in red. Each day after work she’d kick off her red shoes and smell the red roses sitting on her coffee table. The aroma was so blissful it caused her red-painted lips to curl up in each corner. Life was good. 

     You might wonder what her obsession with red was. Strangely enough, she didn’t know. She just knew she looked and felt better with red around. It was more than her heart and soul. Red said everything she wanted to say without ever saying a word.

***

It’s been a busy week for me with kids and family visiting. I didn’t have the time I needed to work on my installment of Vampire Trackers. I’ve been thinking about the color red for a few weeks and how color has such a strong effect on human emotion.  Had a few minutes to work on this short. Hope you like it.

Photo via Flickr by Marko/Zak

21 Comments Add yours

  1. And that, surely, is the point of flash fiction: an idea worked through relatively quickly. Like this one; a study in colour. You could make it a series of standby pieces when time is of the essence.

    1. laradunning says:

      We are on the same track!

  2. Helen says:

    I really liked this piece. Red as a colour often stands for passion, action, energy, life-force, courage and will power, a colour that is associated with the Planet Mars – no wonder she felt better with this high energy colour around her.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks Helen. I’m thinking I’m going to write a couple more bits with red from different peoples perspectives. The more I write flash, the more I like the shorter ones. This one was fun as I had the word RED floating around in my head for weeks now.

  3. Deanne says:

    Lara, your writing is a natural read – meaning it flows for me and I enjoy it. I love the short on RED….sounds like my closet!

  4. John Wiswell says:

    It can be very fortunate to land on a natural expression of what we want. The greatest love of my life wore green everywhere, in every new and faded shade.

  5. It was fortunate for us you got busy and did this flash fiction. I love the use of lanugage and the imagery. I can see the the colors, vibrant and passionate …

    Love this little bit of “red” 🙂

  6. AJ says:

    She sounds a tad OCD in how she feels about the color, but still, can we sing the song Lady In Red to her? I bet that would steal her heart away. Nice, quick read and being a flash friday entry, that’s what we shoot for, right?

  7. Sonia Lal says:

    A little disappointed there is vampire flash today. 😦

    But this is good. Red is my favorite color, too, so I can relate. Would love to have lots of red stuff.

  8. Sonia Lal says:

    Meant to say: A little disappointed there is no vampire flash today. Such an idiot, forgot the word no.

    1. laradunning says:

      Sorry about that, but life this week got in the way. Here I thought summer would be calmer….ha..ha.

  9. Matt Merritt says:

    Once defining passion paints a rich character.

  10. Hi Lara – I’m liking all that red. In particular, your last line: “Red said everything she wanted to say without ever saying a word.”

    Reminds me I’ve got something along these lines done on ‘pink’… good, solid, male, colour, that. I may yet edit it up. 🙂

    St.

    1. laradunning says:

      I”m ready to read your ‘pink’! Yes! Edit it up for sure!

  11. Chuck Allen says:

    I’m still waiting for the next Vampire Hunter… but this was a nice read while waiting. 🙂

    And besides, red is my favorite color.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks for stopping by. Now I know a little bit more about you 🙂 If you had a kitchen would you pick red appliances?

  12. dannigrrl says:

    I think colors definitely have an impact on people’s emotions. I love the last line because wearing a bold color can say so much about a person.

    1. laradunning says:

      I totally agree. For the past couple of years I’ve been in a raspberry color phase. Not sure what that means, but it makes me happy.

  13. Icy Sedgwick says:

    Red is also the colour of a lot of food packaging as it subconsciously makes you hungry. *nods* But I loved the way you ended this, that final line totally nailed the whole piece.

    1. laradunning says:

      I didn’t know that about red. Interesting factoid. Thanks for commenting!

  14. Mari Juniper says:

    Nothing like being self-conscious and happy about oneself! Cool flash.

Leave a Reply

