How Twitter Changed My Life #amwriting #writing #wordmongering

Follow me on Twitter logo
Image via Wikipedia

 How Twitter Changed My Life

Yes, I was one of those people dragging my feet about Twitter. Twitter was one of those things I knew I should do, but didn’t want to do at all. It just seemed like a huge time suck.

Last year things changed. After going to the Pacific Northwest Writer’s Conference all I heard was “Are you on Twitter?,” “Do you have a Twitter account?” and “You need to be on Twitter.”  Now I knew for sure there was no pushing it aside. I had to sign up and boy I’m glad I did.

Twitter and the Writing Life

Twitter in many ways has changed my life as a writer. I’ve met so many great people, read so many great tweets, posts, stories and advice. Instead of searching the web for hours you can find it all right there on Twitter. Sometimes all it takes is a simple hatchtag to find what you need.

Now that I am a die-hard Twitter fan I advocate for it whenever I get the chance, especially with other writers. Twitter is great because it’s a one stop shop. At some point in the conversation I slip in “Are you on Twitter?” or “Do you have a Twitter account” or “You need to get on Twitter.”

Three Cheers for Twitter!

Hindsight is always 20/20, but if I had to do it all over again, from the very first moment I  became serious about writing, I wouldn’t resist joining the Twitterverse.

How has Twitter changed your life ?

12 Comments Add yours

  1. I was nervous about joining Twitter at first too. I dragged my feet for a long time. Kristen Lamb’s blog and book WANA finally convinced me. I’m so glad they did. I’ve found such a wonderful, supportive community there (and on the blogs too). I’m totally a Twitter advocate now. 😀

    1. laradunning says:

      Hi Sonia. Yes, I’ve read her book as well. Great stuff in there. The days of the secluded writer are over-we need to jump in knee deep. It’s funny that our own perception of what Twitter was proved us wrong in the end. Proves that learning and experiencing is a life long process. It was wonderful to meet you! I’m going to find you on Twiter now 🙂

  2. Helen says:

    I was reluctant to join twitter and am a fairly new tweeter – but I am glad I did because I have made friends with such a wonderful writing community who take the time to comment on my work and I find this most encouraging as a writer and I get to read some wonderful pieces of writing too.

    1. laradunning says:

      Yes! I find that is one of the biggest benefits.

  3. John Wiswell says:

    Max Cantor talked me into joining Twitter. He argued it as a tool for promotion, but it’s done a better job of connecting me with friendships than any message board ever did. The conversations are more natural and less frequently aim over the other person’s head. It’s my favorite of the social networking sites.

  4. I didn’t fully understand Twitter. I thought it looked like a big waste of time. Then I started to connect with some amazing writers and ever since there has been no looking back. I guess this wonderful community of writers could exist elsewhere, but for the moment it appears to be on Twitter. So I will join in the cheers and, gosh, if I have to say it, “Thank you, Twitter!” P.S. I hope Twitter doesn’t mess with a good thing.

    1. laradunning says:

      I concur! Without Twitter I would have never met you or read about Nosir’s journey.

  5. lesliesullirose says:

    I was slow to the Twitter game as well. I’ve been blown away how much I can learn with follows and links. Love it now.

  6. My teenage son convinced me to join Twitter, in part so I would let him also join.
    I’m glad he did. I’ve met some wonderful people who are very supportive and made connections I never expected. I’m totally blown away when, after
    I’ve tweeted about a difficulty writing, total strangers pop up to say “You can do this! Don’t give up!”. The amount of positive feedback is absolutely incredible.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      TJ-Yes the support and feedback is incredible. Gives you a push when you need one and uplifts you when you need some positivity.

  7. clarbojahn says:

    But isn’t it still a time suck as you put it? I don’t fully understand twitter. How do hashtags help? What are they for?

  8. Hashtags will let you hook up easily with people with similar interests. It could be a tv show (#FRINGE, #BURNNOTICE #randi), or writing-oriented groups (#mywana, #kidlit, #askagent,and others). It’s a good way to start finding people to follow.

Leave a Reply

