Vampire Tracker Part 12 #fridayflash #tuesdayserial #samplesunday

Coffee Mug

 

 

This flash was a little over 1000 words. As a curtesy I split it in half. Enjoy!            

Vampire Tracker Part 12

     Light seeped in through the crack in the drapes. Jeremy’s snoring competed with the hum of the AC. I shivered under the covers. Every time I shut my eyelids I saw Grandpa’s wrinkled face. Had he been trying to tell me all along? I curled up into a ball, the covers bunched around my chest.                                                                                                        

     In the next bed Jeremy opened one eye, then the other. “What time is it?”                                                                                                                     

“Don’t know.”      

Jeremy propped himself up on one elbow. “It’s 4:30. Damn, we slept all day.” His head slammed back onto the pillow. “I forgot how great sleeping in a bed is.”                                        

“Me too. Thanks Jer.”                                                                                                             

“For what…oh…yeah well I figured after what we heard last night both of us could use a night off the ground.”                                                                                                        

“So last night was real?”                                                                                               

Jeremy stared up at the ceiling. “Well, I guess we’ll find out tonight when we go back. Not sure I trust this guy, or what I think about it. I mean, come on, your supposed to be this Amisi girl that lived hundreds of years ago?”                                      

I glanced at the book. “I know it’s hard to believe, but some part of me does.”                              

“Really? I’ll stand by you cause I’m your friend, but that doesn’t mean I have to believe everything this dude says. Maybe we shouldn’t even bother going back. Test his theroy and see what happens.”                                                                                                        

     Part of me wanted to do just that. Why did I have to be this Amisi chic, surely it could be anyone. My Grandpa’s blue eyes popped into my mind, his grey brows furrowed with disappointment. Was this the destiny he was talking about?                                                                            

I set my back against the headboard. “Naw, we should go.” I lifted the book up. “I need to open this.”                                                            

“Do you have the key?”                                                                                                           

“No. I thought we could pick it or something.”                                                              

“I’ve seen them use bobby pins in the movies. You got one?”                                             

I ran my finger along the lock. “I think so.”                                                                                    

“So what’s up with that book anyway?”                                                                                   

I shrugged. “Don’t know, I never saw Grandpa without it.”                                                       

Jeremy set his feet onto the floor. His red hair stuck out in all directions. “Well, seeing as you always get your way, I guess we’d better find out what’s in it. If you start some coffee I’ll grab your bag.”                                                                                            

“Ok.”                                                                                                                          

     I pushed the covers off and walked over to the coffee maker. Their selection was pretty generic, but it would have to do. With the pot in hand I walked into the bathroom. My eyes squinted under the bright lights. Once they adjusted I winced. I looked horrible. A huge rat’s nest of dark hair sprouted from the back of my head. My eyes were swollen with dark circles underneath. Creases from the pillow crisscrossed across my pale checks. A shower was definitely a must. Ignoring the disheveled girl in the mirror I filled the pot up with water. One cup, two cups, three cups, four cups. The front door slammed shut followed by a cloud of hot, sticky air.                                                                      

“Here’s your bag Vel.”                                                                                                

I walked out of the bathroom and held the pot up. “Coffee is coming. Hey, why didn’t you tell me I looked like hell?”                                                                                         

Jeremy grinned. “Mom’s rule # 4 Never tell a woman she looks bad.”                

“Smart woman. Do I dare ask what rules 1,2 and 3 are?”                                                                                                                      

     ***

This flash fiction is part of a vampire series for #FridayFlash. 

Follow the links below to read more.

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 1

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 2

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 3

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 4

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 5

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 6

Vella and Seth, the First Born Vampire Tracker Part 7

Vella, Seth and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 8

Vella, Jeremy and Seth Vampire Tracker Part 9

Vella, Jeremy and Seth Vampire Tracker Part 10

Vella, Jeremy and Seth Vampire Tracker Part 11

Ammon The Moon Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 2

Lis, Andrew and the Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 1

Lis Desert Vampires  

Natalia Vampire Natalia Searches the Jungle

AndrewVampires in the Jungle 

Veronique Vampires at the Moulin Rouge 

Veronique and Natalia Snow in Paris

Natalia Confession of the Vampire Natalia

Vampires ~ Flash Fiction ~ #FridayFlash #tuesdayserial

10 Comments Add yours

  1. John Wiswell says:

    This one is so low key, Lara. It’s a pleasant change of pace from possessions, wars and major vampiric struggles. Anyone who’s charmed by the characters like I was will happily click back in to find out what those other rules are.

  2. Steve Green says:

    I agree with John, the problem with a serialised story is the urge to keep the action going every week, when in reality if you were reading it all in one go, the reader would not expect every single page to be fast-paced. I think this weeks quiet episode serves as a good stepping stone as the lull between storms.

  3. Helen says:

    I enjoyed this weeks episode and the slower pace, this is coming along very nicely.

  4. Icy Sedgwick says:

    I love the fact that you’re taking the opportunity to let us get to know these two a lot better. Deepening their relationship just adds weight to the characters.

  5. I feel as though this is a transitional section and one dearly needed to give them and us a chance to breath before we are scared witless again.

    I love the tone of this … good work 🙂

  6. sonia says:

    Enjoyed this, quiet and calm and peaceful, but not boring. Still want to know what is going on with the book though.

  7. Matt Merritt says:

    You’ve gotta make them normal sometimes, and this did the trick. Well written.

  8. laradunning says:

    @John Wiswell
    @Steve Green
    @Icy Sedgwick
    @Ramblingsfromtheleft
    @Sonia
    @Matt Merritt
    Thanks for the encouraging feedback. The chance for Vella to sit back and reflect on the previous events will offer more clues to her Grandfather’s past. The next couple of scenes will aim to show they are part of the “normal” (I know what is that really) world, but their destiny is just the opposite.

  9. Chuck Allen says:

    I agree with everyone else, this really works while still building the story. They have a great relationship that adds depth to the story. I can’t wait to see what Grandpa knew.

  10. Hi there Lara — been off working, so missed a few ‘sodes. Catching up.

    Liked that snoring competing with the AC.

    Jer waking up, opening one and then the other intrigued me — gave it a go; concluded it was indeed possible 😉

    Like the fact the book won’t open. The cups confused me a little, but figured that must be the markings on the kettle.

    Good there’s a chance to rest and reflect here.

    Never ask about rules 1, 2 and 3. lol.

    St.

Leave a Reply

