Vampire Tracker Part 11 #fridayflash #tuesdayserial #samplesundy

Via Flickr by reinholdbehringer

    

Vampire Tracker Part 11

     My tongue was tied. Memories of my Grandpa flashed through my mind. Did he know about this? Why didn’t he tell me?                                        

Jeremy snapped his fingers. “Vel, you in there.” All I wanted was someplace quite to think. I remained silent, but looked at Jeremy hoping he’d understand. “Yep, she’s in there.”      

     The First Born went into the other room. Lucille scampered over to him. I strained to hear his hushed voice.

Lucille grunted, Seth’s voice followed. “I will not make the same mistake.”                                                                                           

Jeremy put his arm around me. “Vel, you look exhausted. Being a vamp, I don’t know if Seth needs to sleep, but we do. Tonight we’ll splurge on a roadside motel.”                        

     Seconds later Seth’s bulky form stood before us. I opened my mouth, but no words came out. My head spun, my heart pounded and my memories were on the verge of collapsing.                                                                                                             

“Jeremy, I need you to take care of Lavella tonight. I can see she needs time to rest. Return here tomorrow.”  

Without hesitation Jeremy put his hand out for me to grab. “Ok. Come on Vel.”                               

     Once outside, pink light crested on the horizon. We were in there all night?! I took a deep breath. The air smelled clean and fresh, not like the mixture of dead animal, cinnamon and cloves down in the grave. An owl hooted nearby. Jeremy listened, then  tossed the items in Last Resort and handed me the bag. It felt heavier than it had the night before. In fact, my entire body felt weighted down. I faced the grave door; it was back on the ground and looked as if it had never been disturbed. Had I been dreaming this whole time?                                                                                                 

Jeremy balanced the tripod on his left shoulder and held the camera bag in his right hand. “Let’s scram man.”                                                                                                     

     Dewy grass coated our jeans as we marched through the field. Normally I would have cared, but my strength was sapped. Every movement felt labored, that included keeping my eyelids open. I would sleep anywhere at this point, even out in the wet field.

     The Grizmobile was exactly where we left if. My butt hit the seat and I was out. The next thing I remembered was Jeremy setting me down on a bed, a real bed. Oh, the softness of it reminded me of home. Jeremy cranked the AC, its hum comforted me. I cocooned myself inside the covers, with only my head sticking out. Jeremy flopped on the other bed, his legs spread out, one arm over his eyes the other dangled off the side of the bed.                                  

“Did all that really happen Vel?”                                                                                              

I wanted it to be a dream too. “I think so.”                                                                               

Jeremy pulled his arm away and turned toward me. “That is some crazy shit he told us.”                                                      

“Yeah.” More than crazy.                                                                                                          

Jeremy reached for the light on the bedside table. “You need anything before I turn out the light?”                                                                                                                               

“No just sleep…wait… my Grandpa’s book. I need that.”                                                 

“You mean the old one with the lock?”                                                                         

“Yeah.”                                                                                                                       

     Jeremy walked outside and returned a few minutes later with the book in his hands. He set it front of me. I stared at it a moment. It looked like an ordinary book with its worn corners and cover. Were the answers I needed in there? Was there a reason Grandpa told me to keep it safe? I pulled it to me, resting my chin against the end. My eyes drooped. That will have to wait until tomorrow. The smell of parchment and hints of cigar lulled me to sleep.

 

***

This flash fiction is part of a vampire series for #FridayFlash. 

Follow the links below to read more.

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 1

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 2

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 3

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 4

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 5

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 6

Vella and Seth, the First Born Vampire Tracker Part 7

Vella, Seth and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 8

Vella, Jeremy and Seth Vampire Tracker Part 9

Vella, Jeremy and Seth Vampire Tracker Part 10

Ammon The Moon Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 2

Lis, Andrew and the Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 1

Lis Desert Vampires  

Natalia Vampire Natalia Searches the Jungle

AndrewVampires in the Jungle 

Veronique Vampires at the Moulin Rouge 

Veronique and Natalia Snow in Paris

Natalia Confession of the Vampire Natalia

Vampires ~ Flash Fiction ~ #FridayFlash #tuesdayserial

12 Comments Add yours

  1. sonia says:

    Will the old book have answers? Sounds interesting!

  2. johnwiswell says:

    It can’t be, but I really wanted the old book to be the Sam Raimi Necronomicon. I’m silly like that.

    1. laradunning says:

      You are silly like that. 🙂

  3. Perfect lull in the action for what I am anxiously awaiting. Tomorrow they may find some of the answers … the rest of us will have to wait until next week.

    Another well-done chapter, Lara 🙂

  4. Helen says:

    Oooo what’s in the book? I enjoyed the slower pace of the chapter a chance to reflect and yet you threw in the book, what’s in the book???

    Good work!

    1. laradunning says:

      I’ve been thinking about this book for awhile. Kind of hinted at it earlier, now I’m ready to throw it into the action.

  5. Liked your dewy grass and that book with its smell of parchment and cigars. Also, the fact that Seth isn’t trying to rip their heads off — that’s kind of refreshing; they (and you) can work with him as an interesting character.

    Sleep well, Vella. Got a hard day tomorrow, I suspect 😉

    St.

    1. laradunning says:

      Poor Vella. Her world is crashing down around her.

  6. Icy Sedgwick says:

    Lots of smells in this one, which I like (I tend to make sense of the world through smell) And yay for old books! Who said print was dead?!

    1. laradunning says:

      Smells can make a moment and spark a memory. I’m totally with ya!

  7. Liked that it had even more ‘scene with smells and sensory data’. Could really put myself into the story. Not too far out that you couldn’t suspend disbelief. Want to read more.

  8. Chuck Allen says:

    oh wow. I must have missed your tweet about this because I didn’t realize a new episode had been posted. Taking them back out into the ‘real world’ was a nice touch and gives the story a different feel. I still can’t wait to see what happens!

Leave a Reply

