Vampire Tracker Part 9 #fridayflash #tuesdayserial #samplesunday

This image was first published in the 1 st (18...
Image via Wikipedia

    

Vampire Tracker Part 9

 

     The three of us sat around the table, the candle light shadowed the walls.

Seth held the cartouche in his hand. “Amisi, it is all written here by your father.”

Jeremy kicked me under the table. “Why does he keep calling you Amisi?”

Seth’s shoulders stiffened. “Amisi will continue to be born until she fulfills her destiny.”

Jeremy rolled his eyes. I could tell he didn’t believe one single word. “You’ve got to be joking right?”

Seth looked him in the eyes, his face emotionless. “I do not joke about such things.”

Jeremy snorted. “I’m beginning to wonder if you even know what a joke is.” Now, it was my time to kick Jeremy under the table. “Owh! What’d you do that for?”

I tilted my head. “Just shut up for a minute will ya. I’ll explain the gaps later, but I think in a prior life I was this Amisi chic.”

Jeremy stared at me, eyes wide, jaw dropped. “What?”

“Before you came down here I passed out and had this vision, or dream or something. I was inside Amisi’s body. I saw things I can’t explain, things he knows about. ” I nodded toward Seth. “My father, Omar, told me a time will come when I must choose my destiny.”

“But, your dad’s name is William.”

“I know, it doesn’t make sense.” What the hell am I thinking? This is crazy. 

Jeremy placed his arms over his chest and eyed Seth. “As long as it means we get out of here alive I’ll keep quiet.”

Seth took his cue. “No harm will come to you. I promise.”

Jeremy’s shoulders relaxed a bit, but he held his posture. “If it doesn’t I have a stake with your name written all over it.” Jeremy glanced into the other room. “That goes for your stinkbomb too.”

Seth snarled his upper lip. “Do not speak about my wife in such manner.”

Jeremy burst into laughter. “No way! That’s your wife?!”

I kicked him. “Shut up Jer.”

Jeremy closed his mouth, but his chest still heaved with laughter. “Ok, ok. I won’t say anything more.”

“Good.” I glared at him, then cleared my throat. “So tell me about the first Amisi?”

“Amisi was the eldest daughter of Omar. He was an augur, a very respected man in the town.”

“An augur?”

“A predictor of things to come, a sanctioned oracle. When the Queen found out about his abilities she took him for herself. Omar was a honorable man and said he would stay as long as his wife and children were safe. The Queen agreed. She shut him in a room with nothing but scroll, ink and a bed. He was ordered to write down all the visions he had.”

“Why would she do that?”

“She was desperate. There were whispers that someone would come one day and destroy her.” Seth chuckled. “Well, she was right. Omar had a vision of his own daughter. He never wrote it down or told the Queen. He told only those he trusted. He said Amisi would know what to do.”

“Did she know?”

Seth’s face drifted off, he looked deep in thought. “I don’t know. A few years after she saw her father he died, which meant she was no longer protected. I tried to persuade her to go into hiding, but she refused. She was angry at everyone and everything. Her mother never married another, so their life was hard. A wealthy family who knew Omar had taken them on, they were servants. Amisi blamed Omar for their fate.” Seth’s eyes drifted to the cartouche. “I watched over Amisi the best I could, waiting for the day she would know her destiny. That day never came. The Queen’s spies found her and drained every drop of blood out of her, along with the rest of her family.” 

     I swallowed. Did this mean the Queen would come after me and my family?

***

This flash fiction is part of a vampire series for #FridayFlash. 

Follow the links below to read more.

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 1

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 2

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 3

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 4

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 5

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 6

Vella and Seth, the First Born Vampire Tracker Part 7

Vella, Seth and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 8

Ammon The Moon Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 2

Lis, Andrew and the Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 1

Lis Desert Vampires  

Natalia Vampire Natalia Searches the Jungle

AndrewVampires in the Jungle 

Veronique Vampires at the Moulin Rouge 

Veronique and Natalia Snow in Paris

Natalia Confession of the Vampire Natalia

Vampires ~ Flash Fiction ~ #FridayFlash #tuesdayserial

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    Ooo I’ve just gotta know what happens next. Amisi is reincarnated. Will she know what to do? When will she do it? So many questions, you have to give me the answers – can I wait for next week!!!

    Love it the more I read it.

    1. laradunning says:

      Yes, now I just have to come up with the answers. LOL. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Icy Sedgwick says:

    Nice balance between Jeremy’s incredulity, Vella’s wanting to believe, and the truth!

    One typo – “honoralbe” for “honorable”.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks for catching that Icy. Thanks for commenting.

  3. John Wiswell says:

    In one of the few vampire flashes I’ve done, the main character pointed out that once somebody gets superpowers via a bite they don’t get to disbelieve any wild stories anymore. Reincarnation is totally on!

    1. laradunning says:

      LOL!

  4. The closer she gets to the truth, the more frightened for her I become. How can she not know of her destiny and what happens to her family once she accepts the truth of who she is? Another powerful chapter 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      Will do. Deleted your email in comment.

  5. Chuck Allen says:

    Hmmm. Very interesting! So does this mean you trust us? If you’re telling us his vision?

    (Still loving it!) 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      I haven’t told you yet? 😉

  6. sonia says:

    Nice meshing of everyone’s different views – disbelief, truth and wanting to believe.

    1. laradunning says:

      What a nice comment. Thank you 🙂

  7. clarbojahn says:

    Am loving it and this isn’t my genre.

  8. Steve Green says:

    It is usually expected that the hero or heroine get to survive to the end, which would be nice for Vella, but I have a feeling Jeremy may find all this very hard to deal with.

    Keep it coming Lara.

  9. Neat backstory, Lara. I’m bummed I didn’t get a visual of the wife, though. 😉

    1. laradunning says:

      She is described in the previous parts. Dark, hunched over, smells horrible. LOL

  10. Aidan Fritz says:

    You’ve done a great job at capturing the dialogue. Jeremy has a number of good lines like: Jeremy snorted. “I’m beginning to wonder if you even know what a joke is.” Now, it was my time to kick Jeremy under the table. “Owh! What’d you do that for?” that provide a little humor.

    The ending is a little chilling and shows her being pulled into believing.

  11. I’m liking Jeremy back in the mix — he brings a nice counterpoint of ‘reality’ back into things (e.g. his scepticism and viewpoint), balancing against the more fantastical events that Vella is experiencing. Helps to give the reader something familiar to grab hold of and further underlines that what’s happening is paranormal. Liked the fact that the queen ‘collected’ Omar.

    St.

Leave a Reply

