Vampire Tracker Part 6 #fridayflash #tuesdayserial #samplesunday

http://www.crdp-strasbourg.fr/imageecole/egypte03/index.php?pic=image17.jpg&contexte=

   Vampire Tracker Part 6

     The guards shoved me down a hidden hallway into a spacious room. An old man was hunched over in a corner writing on a piece of parchment. Without thinking I wrung my hand free of the guards grip and ran his direction.

            “Father! Father! I’m here, I came to rescue you!” Father? I knelt down at the man’s feet. They were caked with mud, his sandals worn.

            A warm hand rested on my shoulder. “Stand up child, there is not much time.” He barely looked at the guards, his kind eyes were transfixed on me. “A few minutes alone with my daughter, as they will be my last.” Daughter? What the hell is going on? The guards grunted their acknowledgement.

             Omar’s eyes were turning white and his skin was a strange pale color. “Father what have they done to you?” My heart ached.

            Omar held my hands. “Nothing that I did not let happen. Now you must listen and remember everything I say. You are meant to bring light to the dark. I have seen it, it is now your path.”

            “Father, what are you talking about. It’s me Amisi, I’ve come to take you out of here!” Amisi?

            He gripped my hand tighter. “Stop being foolish child, listen. I have seen this. A time will come, when you must choose your destiny. Mine lies here with the Queen.”

            “No father, I’m not leaving you where death lives. Mother and I need you, you must come home.” I wrapped my arms around him. Tears streamed down my checks. This doesn’t this feel like a dream.

            He patted my back. “I know it’s hard to understand, but one day you will.” He took something off the table. “Give me your thumb.” He placed a golden ankh ring on my thumb and then took a knife blade and nicked the fleshy tip. A drop of dark blood rose from the mark. He wiped the blood on my forehead, held my hands to his chest and closed his eyes. “Blood of my blood, light of all lights, do not forget, remember this day.” 

            “Come closer Amisi, let me see your face.” I leaned forward; his dry fingers traced over my features. “Ah, yes, my desert flower, you will always be in my heart. Do not come here again. Tell your mother I am dead and to marry another, a good man, someone who will take care of her.”

            “No, father, no.” I could barely catch my breath between the sobs.

            He took both of my arms and shook me. “Yes, daughter, you will obey. Remember what I told you. Guards, take her away.”

     The tears would not stop. Everything was a blur until I was thrown outside into the fading light. I lay crumbled in a heap on the desert ground, dust choking me with every breath.

            “You are ungrateful. Your father gave his life for you and this is how you repay him. Don’t come back here or I will have the pleasure of killing you.” He spat on the ground next to me.

     Enraged I clenched a clump of dirt and flung it into the air. “Noooooooooo!”

***

     What the hell was that? Owh..my head…why am I on the floor? Wait…who’s breathing so heavy?

“Jer, is that you?”

     I sat up on my elbows, waiting for my eyes to adjust. The flashlight was on the floor, swaying back and forth. I stretched my hand out to grab it, but cold fingers wrapped around my wrist and twisted me upward. I closed my eyes, afraid of what was waiting for me.

“So, after all these years the old man was right.”

     I opened my eyes. What the…that’s the guard.

***

This flash fiction is part of a vampire series for #FridayFlash. 

Follow the links below to read more.

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 1

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 2

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 3

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 4

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 5

Ammon The Moon Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 2

Lis, Andrew and the Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 1

Lis Desert Vampires  

Natalia Vampire Natalia Searches the Jungle

AndrewVampires in the Jungle 

Veronique Vampires at the Moulin Rouge 

Veronique and Natalia Snow in Paris

Natalia Confession of the Vampire Natalia

Vampires ~ Flash Fiction ~ #FridayFlash

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    I now find myself wanting to know what happens next. Good story!

  2. John Wiswell says:

    Kind of a dramatic way to end the first scene, with that vintage Vader “Nooooo!”

    So what’s the guard up to?

  3. Chuck Allen says:

    Nice addition to the series. So many twists! Loving it!

  4. Once again I am in a tunnel and can’t find my way out.
    Can’t wait to find out what happens.

    Another thrilling excerpt 🙂

  5. Icy Sedgwick says:

    Oh wow, you’re really ramping it up with this one! Can’t wait for the next part. I love this series.

  6. sonia says:

    very dramatic! I loved it! had to go read the other parts but really good

  7. Steve Green says:

    Oh no, back to reality, but the dream’s still there.

  8. Hi there Lara —

    I’m still very impressed you’re managing to pull off a serial. Great drama in here and I am intrigued about where things will go next.

    A couple of minor points:
    (1) In one of your lines you have: “pleasure if killing you”.
    (2) Definitely IMHO, but I wasn’t entirely sure about this line: “Enraged I clenched a clump of dirt and flung it into the air. “Noooooooooo!”” Could be personal taste, but if you visualise what that would look and feel like with a real person doing it, it seemed a little strange.

    But overall:
    (1) I like the fact there’s a feeling of an ‘alien’ society, along with their harsh rules (e.g. disrespecting the father by mourning his loss).
    (2) The strange overlapping with another life is an intriguing thing.
    (3) Interesting hook at the end there — who is this guard? What is he talking about?

    Definitely worth coming back to read next week’s instalment. 🙂

    St.

    1. laradunning says:

      Stephen, thanks for catching that. I’m rethinking your #2 comment. Now that I am re-reading it, it seems I am showing and telling by stating she is enranged and then throwing the dirt. I need to think about that some more. Thanks for your comments. I appreciate them and I’m glad you are enjoying this series. It has been fun to write.

  9. Aidan Fritz says:

    Interesting, the being in a different body “last” week makes more sense now.

Leave a Reply

