Vampire Tracker Part 4 #fridayflash #tuesdayserial #samplesunday

Vampire Tracker

Part 4

   

     The stairwell was damp, moss covered the walls. Dead animals were scattered along the hallway; some looked fresh, some were badly decomposed. Yuck! I hopped over the little nasties and headed for the wooden door at the end of the hallway. I pressed the tip of the flashlight up on the door, it creaked open. Was that a noise behind me? Nervous I looked back, the hallway was empty. Whew, clam down Vella. I took a deep breath and entered the room. The only thing I could see in this room was a pile of ratty blankets. Bones crunched under my feet as I walked over to investigate. The blankets were tattered and dark, wiry hair clung to the fabric. I heard that noise again. In one slow motion I swiveled with flashlight. The room was empty, but on the other side of the room was another door.

     Ok, Vella this is it, this is the moment. Be steady. The door made no sound as I pushed it open. Inside the room was a table with one chair, a small shelf with some trinkets and a bed. Where’s the freakin’ coffin? I looked down at the bed, there was an indentation where someone had slept. Great, a bum lives here. My leg brushed against the bed and the distinct smell of cloves and cinnamon rose from the covers. That’s werid. I heard the noise again and froze. My hands started to shake as I turned my head to look at the door, it was closed. Get it together, you’re just as bad as Jeremy. I shined the flight light around the room, a glint of shiny metal caught my attention. Oohh, what’s this? I picked up a metal picture frame with a man and a woman sitting next to each other. Their lips were drawn and their young, brown faces emotionless. Hmmm…this looks really old.

       Next to the frame was an oblong piece of gold metal. It had several rows of Egyptian looking hieroglyphs, similar to the ones we studied in History class. With great care I picked it up, it was cool to the touch. I ran my thumb downward, it snagged a piece of metal and started to bleed. Without thinking I dropped it and began sucking on the blood. A metallic, salty taste filled my mouth. Yuck, I hate the taste of blood. With my hand close to my face I could see my firefly ring pulse. In the distance an owl was hooting. Oh no…  that thing! I eyed the doorway, it was now open. A shadow moved towards me.

 “Jer, is that you?” Silence.

      A cloud of cinnamon and cloves consumed me. My eyes burned, my vision blurred and my head spun. Voice, I hear voices.

“Jer, is that you? I can’t see anything. Jer-”  Everything went dark as my face hit the dirt floor.

*** 

This flash fiction is part of a vampire series for #FridayFlash. Follow the links below to read more.

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 1

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 2

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 3

Ammon The Moon Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 2

Lis, Andrew and the Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 1

Lis Desert Vampires.  

Natalia Confession of the Vampire Natalia

Natalia Vampire Natalia Searches the Jungle

AndrewVampires in the Jungle 

Veronique Vampires at the Moulin Rouge 

Veronique and Natalia Snow in Paris

Vampires ~ Flash Fiction ~ Friday Flash

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh you devil 🙂 You have left me hanging once more. I am on the edge of my seat. Loving this, Lara.

    1. laradunning says:

      I know….LOL. I wrote this piece and it was pushing over 1500 words. So I had to break it up, otherwise peeps might go cross-eyed reading it. LOL

  2. John Wiswell says:

    A little more Horror-y than your usual vampires – well, “yours” as in Lara’s. Great idea to rbeak up a 1,500-worder into smaller bites. Makes very easy Friday night reading!

    1. laradunning says:

      Yes I agree, short flashes are much easier to read. When I’m reading through the #firdayflash after a few long ones I sigh with relief when a short one pops up. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Yes, small bites, as it were, are perfect. Cinnamon and cloves: i never did much care for mulled wine, but something tells me this has nothing to do with that. It’s getting creepy in there. Gripping stuff.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks!

  4. Icy Sedgwick says:

    I love the fact you’ve gone down the proper ‘Nosferatu’ vampire route!! No aristocratic gents here, no sir! Excellent series.

    1. laradunning says:

      LOL…you’re right about that. No frilly clothes, imported fabric couches or silk sheets.

  5. dannigrrl says:

    I love these bite-size portions of the story. It keeps the readers on their toes.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thank you!

  6. Chuck Allen says:

    Oh! You’re leaving me hooked again! I can’t wait to see what happens.

    1. laradunning says:

      Hopefully I don’t disappoint!

  7. Steve Green says:

    It looks like she is in it deep now, and some lookout Jeremy turned out to be…. unless it got to him first…. ooo-er!!

    The pic is very fitting too. 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      I lucked out with that pic. I searched and searched and then finaly found it. Actually added the damp, moss covered walls because of it. Thanks for commenting!

  8. Hi there Lara — really enjoying this series. Like the fact that Vella goes down in a rather undignified and instantaneous manner at the end of this episode. Your understatement is still working well to make things feel realistic.

    Minor points: having another door beyond the first door felt a little confusing, without more differentiating description. Also “entered the door” may not be quite what you meant.

    Loved, “Where’s the freakin’ coffin?”

    St.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks for the comments. I made a couple of minor adjustments, thanks for pointing it out. Always appreciated 🙂

  9. Stephen says:

    Another nice cliffhanger. Vivid details of the crypt made this segment feel like I was there. Well done.

  10. sonia says:

    Ohh cloves and a really nice ending. (I like cloves) Good!

Leave a Reply

