Dolly, Don’t You Cry ~ #Poem #Poetry Childhood Divorce

Portrait of a girl with a doll in Denver, Colo...
Image via Wikipedia

Dolly, Don’t You Cry 

It’s ok Dolly, don’t you cry

Mama said everything’s 

Going to be alright

 

Daddy’s gone

Left without a good-bye

Don’t worry

I’ll hold you tight

  

Momma’s sad

Said he’s gone for good

She’s says now everything

Will be just as it should

 

I know Dolly, I’m sad too

But I promise

I’ll never leave you

 

Poem ~ Childhood ~ Divorce

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh, you know how to evoke emotions. This is so touching, Lara.
    Good job 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      Thank you!

  2. Beautifully worded with a delicious flow.
    I’ve just finished reading a book ‘Broken wing Butterfly’ a gorgeous book for teenagers who have gone through divorce.

    1. laradunning says:

      I haven’t heard of that. I’ll have to check it out.

  3. What an emotional piece… Gorgeous in its brevity, Lara…

    1. laradunning says:

      Thank you.

  4. Helen says:

    Nice rhythm to this and really deep in a sort of light way.

Leave a Reply

