Vampire Tracker Part 3 #fridayflash #samplesunday #tuesdayserial

Vampire Tracker

Part 3

     Jeremy set up the camera and I opened Last Resort. Flashlights, check, squirt guns, check, stakes, check.

“Hey, here’s your garlic strand and a silver cross. I’ll set the flashlights, holy guns and stakes down here.”

Jeremy grabbed the items I held out for him. “You better pray we don’t need any of that stuff.”

I spritzed the ground with the deer urine. “I think we should be more concerned about this stuff.”

Jeremy wrinkled his nose. “That’s rank.” 

I covered my nose with my shirt. Jeremy’s dropped the camera lens cap. He bent down to pick it up, but his hands were shaking.

“Jer, everything is going to be ok, nothing bad is going to happen. That probably wasn’t even a real vampire.”

“That thing, whatever I saw, was weird.”

“Hey, I know what we need. I’ll be right back.

     I ignored Jeremy’s pleas for me to come back as I darted for the field. Man, he can be a wuss sometimes. The night sky was purple with dark shades of blue on the eastern side. One by one I caught ten fireflies and brought them into the woods. At the tree I rubbed off their glowing underside. I squished five together and pressed it on my finger.

“Hold out your right hand.”  I pressed the glowing glob onto Jeremy’s hand. “My grandfather told me this keeps you safe.” I didn’t know if it worked, but Jeremy didn’t need to know that. At least not right now.

Jeremy put his hand up in front of him, his right finger glowed. “That is so weird it stays lit.”

“That’s where the magic is.” Jeremy gave me one of his ‘whatever’ looks. “If it saves your ass then you’ll be thanking me later.”

“Are you ready yet or what? I wanna get out of here.”

“Ok, ok, do I look camera ready?”

“Yep, let’s roll.”

Camera on, red light blinking, here we go. “We are on location at Nat Turner’s rebellion in Virginia. Earlier today we found the cross you see behind me. The name of the deceased has been scratched out, but the epitaph reads “Here Lies My Soul.” When we returned this evening we were startled to find the grave was really a door. Where it goes and who lives there, we don’t know, but tonight we will wait to find out who our mystery guest could be. Could it be a vampire? We don’t know. Could it be a reclusive bum? We don’t know. But, whatever it is will be discovered tonight by me Vella Hart and Jeremy Higgins.”

Jeremy pressed the pause button. “How was that?”

“Perfect! I think you could have a career as a newscaster.” Jeremy faked a laugh.

“Very funny. I just don’t think I have the right type of helmet hair for it, but Cindy sure does.”  I flashed a smile.

“Ha..ha.”

      Startled we both jumped closer to each other when we heard a noise from behind us. Jeremy’s eyes were wide, I grabbed a flashlight. My firefly ring started pulsing, fluorescent and bright. We both turned our heads toward the grave, a dark shadow crept out. It turned towards us emanating a low guttural growl, its eyes flashed red. I was frozen with fear. Jeremy grabbed his squirt gun and held it between his shaking hands. The creature shuffled forward and sniffed the air. With it came a horrible stench of rotting flesh and moldy leaves, I gagged.

      A stillness came over Jeremy’s face.  His eyes were locked on the creature, his hands steady, his trigger finger ready. The creature stopped, swayed to the left, sniffed, then swayed to the right and sniffed. The red of his eyes faded to black. It let out sigh, turned and ran into the field. The only part of my body that could move were my eyes, the rest was trying to calm pounding heart. I watched as the creature swatted at fireflies, who all seemed to disappear within several yards of it.

“What the hell was that?” Jeremy’s voice cracked.

“I think that was a vampire.”

“Naw, that was something else, maybe a rabid animal. I can’t even describe that smell. Vampires surely don’t smell that bad. Oh god, I feel like gagging just thinking about it.” Jeremy put his hand up to his throat.

I swallowed, holding back my gag reflex. Something saved us, but what? “That was weird. It acted like it couldn’t see us. It smelled the air, do you think the deer urine worked? or the…” I looked down at my firefly ring. It had stopped pulsing.

Jeremy shrugged his shoulders. “Your guess is as good as mine.”

“Well I know one things for certain. I’m going down in there.”

“What! Vella, you don’t know what’s down there.”

“That’s exactly why I’m going. That thing, whatever it is, won’t be back for a while. It ran off like it had a hot date with a wild turkey. I’ll set my watch for 10 minutes, you keep a look out for me. If you see it coming, hoot like an owl.”

“Hoot like an owl? This isn’t a movie Vella, this is your life.”

“Yeah, I know and if I don’t go down there I will regret it for the rest of mine.”

     I didn’t wait for a response. Flashlight in hand I headed straight for the grave door. Oh, man, that smell. I shined the light down into the darkness.

“There’s stairs here. Ok, I’m going in. Remember hoot like an owl.”

“Yeah, I know, hoot like an owl.” Jeremy’s face was grim. “I don’t like this Vella.”  He looked toward the field, one hand on the flashlight and one hand on the squirt gun. “Be quick and if you hear me hoot get out of there as fast as you can.”

     I covered my nose with my shirt and took my first step into stenchville.

***

This flash fiction is part of a vampire series for #FridayFlash. Follow the links below to read more.

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 1

Vella and Jeremy Vampire Tracker Part 2

Ammon The Moon Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 2

Lis, Andrew and the Flute Player The Cliff Dwelling Part 1

Lis Desert Vampires.  

Natalia Confession of the Vampire Natalia

Natalia Vampire Natalia Searches the Jungle

AndrewVampires in the Jungle 

Veronique Vampires at the Moulin Rouge 

Veronique and Natalia Snow in Paris

Vampires ~ Flash Fiction ~ Friday Flash

22 Comments Add yours

  1. This was done well, had me hooked from the first to the last. Enjoying the story. Thanks for this new excerpt.

    Then you left me hanging … as you should 🙂

  2. John Wiswell says:

    Packing squirt guns for a vampire fight! Heck yeah. Their earthy, almost Monster Squad-style dialogue and approach made me smile.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thank you. By nature I’m a serious person, so I’m pushing myself to improve my humor writing. I so admire those that can do it.

  3. I’m enjoying reading this as a serial.

    The smelly vampire is great and feels real. I liked the ‘to camera’ piece. The use of the firefly mojo worked out. Not sure why she’s going down into that grave but I am interested to see what she finds.

    Nicely written as per the rest of the parts.

    St.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks Stephen. I wouldn’t be going down there, but Vella she tends to be more fearless.

  4. Chuck Allen says:

    You’ve got me hooked. I can’t wait to find out what is down there.

    1. laradunning says:

      Hopefully I don’t disappoint. Thanks for commenting!

  5. Matt Merritt says:

    Well that’s not fair. A cliffhanger! Can’t wait to find out what’s in there. Nice atmosphere in this one.

    1. laradunning says:

      Vella’s story turned out to be a lot more involved than I had originally planned. Wrote the draft in one sitting, words and ideas just kept flowing. Love when that happens.

  6. ~Tim says:

    I got a chuckle out of all the “We don’t know” in the video shot. If I had a nickel for every time I’ve heard that on a real news broadcast. Vella might really have a career opportunity there.

    1. laradunning says:

      LOL….I know exactly what you mean.

  7. Icy Sedgwick says:

    No, Vella, don’t go down there!! Silly girl. She needs more fireflies!

    1. laradunning says:

      Yes she does!

  8. Steve Green says:

    If this was a movie I’d be shouting “Noooo, don’t go down there…” but they always do, don’t they? 🙂

    I just know that no good is gonna come from this.

    Keep it rolling Lara. 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      Had to make one level headed and one with guts of steel. LOL

  9. Mari Juniper says:

    Very nice the firefly thing! I could almost smell the stench. Yuk.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks for commenting Mari!

  10. jcunknown says:

    i love how you make everything so vivid it very addictive ….. i need more

  11. Stephen says:

    Hoot-hoot. Stepping into the lair is not a good idea. The firefly band lays a nice foundation for something special. A nice touch.

  12. Helen says:

    What is she going to find? Great story, you kept the tension up and held the interest of the reader. Looking forward to the next instalment.

  13. Aidan Fritz says:

    I like how tight you’ve constructed the tale with using the firefly glob & Cindy.

Leave a Reply

