March In Like a Lion out Like a Lamb?

 

March in Like a Lion and Out Like a Lamb

     I don’t know about you, but the past few days I’ve been wondering how in the world it was March already?!! With my work load increasing my days have become a serious juggling act of work, writing, social commitments and husband time. The more I look over my calendar, which is quickly filling up, the more my eyes glaze over. What is summer going to be like?

     To make sure I am keeping in line with my New Years Goals I hesitantly looked back at my post. A sigh of relief swept over my whole body, as so far I seem to be keeping on track. The frantic beating of my heart can be chopped up to a case of writer’s nerves.

  1. Halfway through editing my Selkie story Pearl of the Sea
  2. Posting for flash friday, kinda strayed by adding some new storylines
  3. Found a short story contest- now I need to prepare it and send off
  4. I have been regulating my Twitter time 😦 I miss you guys!
  5. A fellow writer and I have made headway on starting Fidalgo Island Writer’s Guild (Find us on Facebook) in town

     Shoulders relaxed, trace of smile on my face…whew… its not as bad as I thought ( knock on wood). Hopefully by April I will have lambs frolicking and jumping over my finalized WIP.

     Two things that I have pushed aside are my NaNoWriMo story and my werewolf story. Honestly, I do not don’t know when I’ll even get to this. Editing is my top priority, then short story contest, writer’s group and getting myself ready for the PNWA Writers Conference Aug. 4-7.

     No matter what I do, how dedicated I am to keeping a schedule it always seems that there is never enough time. Remember when an hour seemed to last forever as a kid? I would love to have that feeling of endless time again.

How are you doing managing your hectic life and the writing goals you set for 2011?

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. clarbojahn says:

    My goals were kinda simple. I joined an exercise class so that one of exercising more is met every week by going and I get so sore I have to do some extra to move the lactic acid from my sore muscles. And I had a goal of being the best me “i” could be every day. I am. The one I skimp on is meditating. I suck at meditating. But I frequently stare out the window and reflect, or I dwell on spiritual devotions and that I think takes the place of actually making my mind still.

    1. laradunning says:

      I started doing Zumba. It’s one exercise that has kept me motiviated and if I want to drop in on a class there are plenty around town, if I want to mix things up. I tried doing Tai Chi for meditation but the class was once a week and to learn the moves I needed it to be more regular. The instructor lives out of town so I was bummed about that. I enjoyed it while it lasted. It’s great to aim to be the best “I” one can be, great goal!

  2. You seem to have it basically under control. Myself I am half way to here and a quarter of the way there. Need some more time on my last edit and I am also trying to get something ready for a contest. (first pages kind of thing)

    Keep up the good work. You know how I love the Selkie story. Love the flash fridays. Oh, just keep writing 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      How is the story coming along that you were working on in Nov? It was a Celtic story right?

  3. writeanne says:

    Well done on accomplishing so much, Lara.

    My 2011 writing goals were to finish first draft of children’s novel by end of May – that’s on track. I also wanted to post at least once per week on the blog – tick – so far; to continue to write features for bimonthly writers’ ezine – ongoing and up to date;

    Second half of the year focus will switch to my second novel for adults.

    It’s not easy – I have a demanding job, a long drive to and from work and people with whom I want to spend quality time – but somehow it all seems to happen.

    1. laradunning says:

      Wow anne, sounds like you have a full load with commute and day job as well as writing on top of it all. You have a very positive take on it all and looks like you make the most out of everyday. Good luck and keep writing!

  4. Leslie Rose says:

    It’s great to have a line of projects to work on, keeps those creative juices flowing. I envy your organization.

    1. laradunning says:

      I’m one of those folks that has to have a list of things to do-helps keeps me focused.

  5. rodd says:

    Hi. Where did you find that photo of the lion in your blog? I would like to use it if was free.

    1. Lara Dunning says:

      Yes, it was free. I found it on google images under lion roaring.

Leave a Reply

