Unplug and Recharge

Unplug and Recharge

For most of us our schedules have us continually plugged in. If we are not busy with work, family and writing, we are busy with social networking. With everything a tweet or post away its easy to forget how all of that can clutter the mind.

For a week in February this was my home in the British Virgin Islands. (Catamaran on the left)

 

By Seth Gabel

 

Unless I went ashore there was no internet access, there was no tweeting, checking Facebook or emails, even no TV. The phone service was erratic and roaming – so unless someone got attacked by Jaws it was out of commission. I’m one of those folks that get motion sick so writing or reading was out of the question.

I was officially unplugged.

By Lara Dunning

It was adventure at its finest. Exploring islands, sailing the seas, snorkeling with sea turtles, drinking fruity rum drinks, gazing at the stars, eating good food-experiencing what life is like away from my writer’s chair.

By Lara Dunning

I was not on a writer’s retreat-I was on a writer’s escape. Everywhere I looked there was sand, sun and beauty.

By Seth Gabel

Don’t get me wrong. Modern technology is great. Even so, it’s so nice to get completely away from it. It’s amazing what a few days away from it all will do for the soul and the mind. My head is swirling with ideas for stories and the only problem I have is I can’t seem to edit my WIP fast enough so I can start working on them.

I am now officially recharged.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. A week in the BVI. *sigh* So envious. 🙂

  2. writeanne says:

    Your writer’s escape looks and sounds fabulous. Now you’re recharged there’ll be no stopping you 🙂

  3. Here I was worried you were not blogging because there was a problem … Hipee for you !!

    That looks like a great escape, a perfect place to recharge and considering the nature of some of your stories, I can see the wheels turning in your head.

    Welcome back to civilization 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      Not a bad place to play hooky!

  4. PW Creighton says:

    Certainly a good thing to unplug once in awhile but hanging out in the islands? Yeah, I’d avoid doing anything there too.

Leave a Reply

