The Sacrement #fridayflash

 

I was not satisfied with the flash I started for my Vampire Series and Pearl of the Sea. So, instead I am posting a snippet of something I had written awhile ago.

Via Flickr by Josh Kellogg

The Sacrament

     The island summers of my youth rekindled my spirit. They were cool with beautiful, sunny days and calm, glassy waters with puffins, seals and whales greeting me from the sea. If it rained, it was only a drizzle, never a down pour. The smell of the wet earth was wondrous. It filled the air with the smell of life and the sea. A favorite spot was the road between our villages. It was here that the pounding waves were loudest and best heard at night. The sound combined with the smell and my own beating heart pulled me  in, it made me real.

    Life was balanced. The world took no notice of my presence and I could fully embrace the sway of the wind, the sound of the ocean and the twinkling of the stars. I never felt outside of the equation, but part of a whole universal system of ebb and flow. The summers were a sacrament to living, to life, and my soul thrived. That connection, filled with such admiration for the quiet, the beauty, the wonder we call life has never left my memories. It lingers as a reminder to brighten dark days.

Friday Flash ~ Flash Fiction

31 Comments Add yours

  1. The world took no notice of my presence and I could fully embrace the sway of the wind, the sound of the ocean and the twinkling of the stars.

    How I love your imagery. Thanks for another enjoyable piece of your work 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      This piece reads like a piece of my soul. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  2. John Wiswell says:

    That was different from what I’ve read around here! Much shorter, much sweeter and perhaps even more elegant. Lovely, even in her disappearance.

    1. laradunning says:

      Yes with my lack of time this week I decided to do something different. Glad you enjoyed it. I had written it awhile back and did some editing to it and voila. Thanks for your comments.

  3. Deanna Schrayer says:

    Oh to have that feeling all the time! This is stunningly beautiful Dani, I love it!

    1. laradunning says:

      Yeah, wouldn’t that be wonderful to drag a moment in time out and make it last forever. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

  4. Deanna Schrayer says:

    Duh…I mean Lara, so sorry, Dani must be thinking about me. 🙂

  5. Excellent story. Great descriptions really bring out the peace and comfort the setting displays.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks for your comments. While writing the piece I was not aiming for a sense of comfort, but I think you touched on something that I over looked. A sense of belonging often means a sense of comfort. Thanks for sharing that!

  6. You totally took me back to my own summer vacations when I was a kid. Perfect. I miss those days…

    1. laradunning says:

      Yes, summers remembers and summers lost to time. Powerful stuff.

  7. Pj kaiser says:

    Wonderful imagery, Lara. Nice description of getting back to nature 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks for commenting. Yes this piece was definately about getting in touch with nature and feeling part of the entire process.

  8. M L Poncelet says:

    I love how you engage the senses such as the smell of the earth after it rains and your bold imagery – very vivid. I love the ocean too :0)

    1. laradunning says:

      Yes, senses are such a strong emotional reminder and tie. Thanks for commenting.

  9. Very good sensual description. You paint a beautiful picture here.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks for stopping by and the comment.

  10. ramseylyons says:

    I love your descriptions in this. You say so much in these 196 words to put us there to feel the wind, smell the rain. Well done! 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks you. I love the smell of the rain, especially in the dessert.

  11. Icy Sedgwick says:

    That actually really reminds me of the part of the world I’m from – Northumberland’s coastline boasts puffins and seals! Brought back some lovely memories for me. Thank you.

    1. laradunning says:

      When I was younger I spend the summers on a remote island in alaska…this was partially taken from that experience. The power of some places is amazing.

  12. Aidan Fritz says:

    This evokes feelings of being younger and out in the wilderness. In particular, I like “A favorite spot was the road between our villages. It was here that the pounding waves were loudest and best heard at night.” for it’s simple truths and the images that it causes me to imagine.

  13. part of a whole universal system of ebb and flow — I love this phrase. You did a beautiful job of pulling the reader into this scene Lara.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks for commenting Danielle.

  14. Jason Warden says:

    Great imagery, you really know how to set a scene, it was like looking like a photo album. Dunno if you’re lookiing for it but i do have one little suggestion. ” The sound combined with the smell and your own beating heart pulled you in, it made you real” – I understand what you were doing with it, but I would change this to 1st person, maybe it’s just me but the switch pulled me out for just a sec. Otherwise, great job!

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks for your suggestion, It does work better that way tying the narator back into the paragraph. Thanks!

  15. Like Danielle, I love the line ‘universal system of ebb and flow’. Your piece has left a yearning in me to revisit some of my favourite coastal places: the west coast of Brittany and the San Juan Islands. I think you could see beauty in a lightless cave Lara.

    1. laradunning says:

      What a wonder compliment, thank you. Were you by chance talking of teh San Juan Islands in Wa? If so I live in Anacortes. From my office I have a view of the San Juans, it is so breathtaking. I feel very lucky to have a wonderful view.

  16. ganymeder says:

    That was lovely.

  17. Jason says:

    Wonderful sense of connection with nature/cosmos. Eloquent.

Leave a Reply

