Kail’s Sorrow #flashfriday #serialtuesday #spokensunday

Via Flickr by Taylor Dundee

 Kail’s Sorrow

     Kail watched as Aine’s seal form slipped through the water slowly becoming smaller and smaller on the horizon. Turning his head he put his face into the wind letting his long dark brown hair sweep back off his face. Suddenly a warm hand slipped onto his sagging shoulder. He knew it was Chief Aric and did not move his eyes off Aine.

            “It was not meant to be Kail.”

            “It would be, if she stayed. She would learn to love me.”

            “One does not learn to love.”

     Pushing his hand away Kail ran down the beach letting the sand fly angrily up behind him. Memories raced through his mind. Laughing with Aine there, holding Aine’s hand here and listening to her voice nestled in the grass over there. When he made it to the end of the beach he slowed his pace as he realized he could not escape his memories. To him she would always be the beating of his heart.

     Looking back towards the sea he searched for her in the water. She was gone, off to see Soriayana, which meant she was lost to him for good. The sea witch had already grieved him several months ago when she told him Aine was not meant for him. At first he did not believe her words, but when he came back to the village and asked Aine to be his, she had refused him.

     Wading into the water the sand curled about his feet. He felt the pull of the water rippling under his skin urging him to shift and swim. Looking back towards the village he could see the preparations beginning. He wondered how she could leave their home. Maybe if he told her once again that he loved her, she would stay? Closing his eyes he instantly knew she would look upon him with those beautiful eyes with the love of a patient sister. Shaking his head, he knew he did not want to see that look again. Sinking downwards the water enveloped him. Shifting quickly his seal nature began taking over his senses. As the cool water surrounded him he was thankful to feel some relief from the sorrow of his human heart.

Via Freefoto.com by Ian Britton

This is part of a flash fiction series I am doing for side characters in Pearl of the Sea (previously The Vanishing Island – rethinking the title) with Emperor Wei Shu and Aine the Selkie. Check my other flash stories – The Revenge of Emperor Li Long and The Escape of Wei Shu.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely, haunting piece. I’ve known the Selkie myths since childhood. I live in the Scottish Hebrides on the Isle of Skye and seals are a common sight on the shoreline. There’s something very human about thier eyes, isn’t there?

    This is beautiful writing, Lara. I look forward to more.

    Anne

    1. laradunning says:

      Anne, Yes I agree there is something very human about their eyes. I lived on the Aleutian chain for three years and we had a harem of seals that would swim into the cove during the summer. One seal in particular would sit up in the water and stare at you, while the others would swim about. It was a striking image and has stuck with me. I enjoy Selkie myths too. My story aims to give reason for some of the rules they have to follow in the myths we know today. Glad you are enjoying it!

  2. Laura, I love this piece. As Anne said, I have also heard stories from Celtic folklore, which are similar. Aine (awnee) in Gaelic was also the Moon Goddess in Celtic Folklore.

    I love how beautifully you weave legends and myths into your stories. 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      I so enjoy Celtic folklore and myths about the water in general. There is something mysterious and fantasical about it. When I traveled to Ireland a few years ago I went on alot of story/lore tours. It was so great to see how the lore was connected to the land and vice versa.

  3. Jason says:

    The way the selkie bridges human and animal nature, and at the same time represents the tension between the two, resonates throughout the story in a very compelling and intriguing manner. I like “Pearl of the Sea.”

    1. laradunning says:

      Oh good, I’m heavily leaning towards that name. I think it resonates with the Selkie side of the story more. Also, Aine will eventually recieve the blister pearl that the shahman gave Wei Shu. Thank you for your comments!

  4. Aidan Fritz says:

    I didn’t realize he was a Selkie at the beginning and at first I wondered whether he could become a selkie by wishing. I’d never heard of Selkies until Mercedes Lackey used them in one of her stories. They are intriguing.

    1. laradunning says:

      Part of my heritage is Scottish and Irish and Selkies are part of their mythology. If find them intriguing as well, as they are continually pulled towards the water, it is part of their lifeblood. The WIP I am re-editing at the moment aims to tell the reasons behind the rules they must live with in the myths we know today. I breifly mentioned Kail in chapter 7 excerpt.

  5. L'Aussie says:

    I love the atmosphere in this piece Lara. I’m looking forward to reading more in the series.

  6. I thought this was a haunting piece, I’m googling Selkie mythology now to learn more..

  7. I love your style of writing here, and intend to read up more of what you have written. It is other-worldly and for me this makes for great story-telling.

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks let me know what you think of the other ones.

Leave a Reply

