Ringing in the New Year with Writing Goals

 

Via Flickr by Sea Turtle

Ringing in the New Year with Writing Goals!!

      It’s that time of year again where everyone reflects on the past year and contemplates goals for the new year. I don’t know about you, but I cannot believe it is 2011. It feels like it just turned 2010. Time is whizzing by at lightening speed as my hours are filled with writing and blogging. Time just seems to go by faster and faster these days. I usually keep a mental note of my goals and resolutions I set for myself, but this year I am posting my writing goals for all to see.  Hopefully this time next year I can see how much progress I’ve really made.

2011 New Year’s Goals

  1. The first months of the year I will devote the majority of my time to re-editing my Selkie story, then I will go full force on submitting and find the right agent.
  2. Throughout the year I will keep up with my flash fiction vampire series (the ultimate goal is to have enough material to make a book).
  3. Be more active in submitting my Children’s Chapter book to agents, as this is a finished piece of work.
  4. Submit one of my short stories to a contest.
  5. Regulate my time on Twitter so I can be more active with my writing.
  6. Work on editing my NaNoWriMo novel, Beautiful Mess.
  7. Start plotting out my werewolf novel.
  8. Start a writer’s group in town.

      The New Year is such an exciting time as it holds so much hope and promise for us all. I wish everyone great stories, finding an agent, getting published (either traditional or e-book) and most importantly time to write!!

Happy New Year!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura, wonderful goals and great material for you to work on for the next year. It’s a joy to sit with a piece of work we love and hone it until it shines 🙂

    I wish for you the completion of your goals for 2011 and much more. Happy New Year, my friend.

    1. laradunning says:

      Yes! I am excited! So many fun things to do and write! Happy New Year and good luck with all your endevours!

  2. Aidan Fritz says:

    Sound like a great set of goals. Good luck with them and Happy New Year!

    1. laradunning says:

      Yes! cross fingers!

  3. Alex Fayle says:

    Great looking goals Lara – mine all boil down to being consistent in what I do – consistent writing, consistent platform building, etc… Good luck with 2011!

  4. Good luck with all your goals, Lara. 2011 sounds like it should be exciting and productive.

  5. Leslie Rose says:

    Impressive goals. Best of luck with all of them. Sounds like some exciting times will be coming your way this year.

    1. laradunning says:

      Yes! I am looking forward to the new year! I’m glad to be home and back on track with my writing schedule. Good luck to you and happy new year!

Leave a Reply

