To Kindle or Not to Kindle, That is the Amazon Question

To Kindle or Not to Kindle

     Yes, I have to admit it I was one of those readers who said, ‘I will never get a Kindle. I like books. I like the feel of them, the smell of them, everything about them. A kindle will never replace the connection people have to books.’ I’m sure you know what I am going to say next for folks who say ‘never’ usually end up eating their words, so yes, as of today November 30th, 2010 I am now the proud owner of a Kindle.

     A couple of weeks ago when I was surfing through Twitterverse and seeing all the great e-books on there I thought to myself ‘You know what, I really want a Kindle.’ Coming to terms with my Kindle envy did not feel like diving off a cliff, more like a ‘a-ha’ moment. If you think about it, e-book devices are a really great invention. No longer when you move are you trying to figure out which family member is going to carry the heavy book boxes. No longer do you have to plan which books you want to travel with. No longer are stacks of books accumulating and falling off of your beside table. No longer do you have to switch sides while reading in bed depending on which side of the book is the thickest. Plus a lot of libraries are now offering downloadable books. Whatever your reading or want to read is all there, on this thin, lightweight reader’s delight.

     Once my Kindle is fully charged and ready to go in my joyous frenzy I will begin buying e-books like crazy. I have the kindle that has the everywhere wi-fi, so no matter where I am at purchasing a new book is just a click away. In other words, for the next several months I will be under the delusion that my Kindle has the power to enter into another dimension where days are really 48 hours instead of 24 giving me plenty of time to read them all!

Happy Reading!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Mik Wilkens says:

    You’re going to LOVE it. I’ve got a Nook with 3G/wi-fi, and it’s wonderful. 1,500 books in the palm of your hand. Other than a dimension with 48 hours in a day, what could be better? 🙂

    ~Mik

    1. laradunning says:

      That is great to hear! My jedi mind gaze is not making it charge any faster. *Excitement brewing*

  2. Jason says:

    Christmas came early this year! Have fun.

  3. Laura, it sounds exciting. When it’s fully charged, go have a good time.

    I’m still in the ice age, so I got Kindle for PC for free and read here.

    Have fun 🙂

    1. laradunning says:

      Thanks! I will!

  4. You will love it! There are tons of free books on Amazon for one thing–lots of classics, like Jane Austen (I’m a geek).

    Enjoy!

    Amy

    1. laradunning says:

      Finished my first book already! Ready for more! You know I’ve never read a Jan Austen book. I know alot about them from PBS miniseries, LOL, they are on my to read list, but won’t quite get to them yet.

  5. Aidan Fritz says:

    After a colleague lent me his for a week, I ended up buying one. I was surprised at how convenient it was to read on the device. Hope you enjoy yours!

    1. laradunning says:

      I’m loving it!

  6. I go back and forth about getting a Kindle. I can see how it would come in handy to have a portable reader, but I just love the feel of a good book in my hands. It’s hard to give that up. And yes, I know I don’t have to give one up to get the other, but it still feels that way for some crazy reason!

    1. laradunning says:

      I just finished my first ebook this morning -The Interdimensional Dumpster by Ray Conner. Great book by the way. I am throughly loving my kindle. Easy to bookmark pages and easy to read. I was surprised that the screen is very similar to reading a book. Don’t get me wrong I still love books too. I like the feel of them as well. Living with both is completely do-able.

  7. Ray Connor says:

    I think Kindle may just also help those techno kids read a book. They seem to love everything digital!

Leave a Reply

