#NaNoWriMo Equals #amwritng Fever and Tips by Alison Wells

Via Flickr by mj ecker

#NaNoWriMo Equals #amwriting Fever

Ever since I heard about NaNoWriMo I have been tossing around the idea of participating. I had read Alison’s blog over a week ago and set it mentally aside for future reference. Last week I decided that I would forgo it this year and instead do the Poetic Asides Poem a Day Challenge. The biggest reason was in my real life job we are making some headway on our project and I just did not want to overwhelm myself.

When Oct 31st came around and a good Twitter mate said he was contemplating taking the last-minute plunge I couldn’t help but think maybe I should too. I have a couple of stories ideas ready to choose from. One in particular is a YA story that I came up with at the Pacific Northwest Writer’s Association Conference this summer. It’s not like if you don’t make it to 50,000 words your fingers get chopped off. It’s all about challenging yourself. Well, let’s face it, I love a mental challenge. I reread Alison’s blog post and geared myself up to take the plunge into a month of writing with NaNoWriMo.

So at 12:03am I made the move to my keyboard and began typing away. 2050 words later I am ready to hit the hay.

Thanks Alison for your ideas and suggestions. I am definitely using them!

How to do NaNoWrimo when you don't have the time Er well….NaNoWriMo. A 50,000 word novel in 30 days? Are we ready, confident, rearing to go? Or are we standing on the edge of a bungee jump saying ‘why did I sign up for this? I really can’t do this and it’s not just the fear of it, it’s actually a physcial impossibility, I don’t have the time.’ Non … Read More

via Head above Water

One Comment Add yours

  1. My post today is about the same subject, different twist.

    It will be the hot topic for days, weeks perhaps.
    For those who will participate … good writing to you all and to all a good night 🙂

Leave a Reply

