Childhood Memories of “The Hobbit”

Via Flickr by Cameron Madday

Chip the glasses and crack the plates!
Blunt the knives and bend the forks!
That’s what Bilbo Baggins hates!
Smash the bottles and burn the corks!

That’s what Bilbo Baggins hates!
So, carefully! Carefully with the plates!
— The Hobbit

Childhood Memories of “The Hobbit”

As a child I listened to this record over and over again. I never tired of listening to the songs and stories of Bilbo’s adventures with trolls, elves, dwarfs, spiders and dragons, Gandalf’s magical voice and Gollum’s “precious.”  The record also included picture book pages to flip through. I could easily read along or look at the pictures as the story was being read to me. 

The cartoon was the end all be all, but I did not get to watch that as much as we had regulated TV hours. None the less, my record always captivated and satisfied me. I loved Tolkien’s fantasy world that was full of wonderous and mythical creatures. Listening to the record of J.R.R. Tolkien’s tale of one Hobbit’s adventure took me to those places I longed to go and see for myself. I wanted to see Rivendell and hang out with the elves. I wanted a house built into a hill that had a round door. I wanted Gandalf as my friend.

I guess that is what I like so much about fantasy writing. I get to create the world, the characters and set the stage for the adventure. In doing so I can make that world be real, if only for a moment in time.

Hurrah for Peter Jackson

Via Wikimedia Commons by Natasha Baucas

I was so relieved to see that Peter Jackson will be directingThe Hobbit.” He did such a great job with “Lord of the Rings” it would really be a shame for anyone else but him to direct it. His vision for creating J.R.R Tolkien’s world was believable and for the most part right on the mark. I can’t wait to see what he does with “The Hobbit.”

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura: This is wonderful. My memories of The Lord of the Ring and The Hobbit are not so much my childhood, but that of my son. His love for fantasy fiction was fuel from Piers Anthony, Terry Brooks and dozens of other, but his love of Tolkein was unshakeable.

    He went to a horse ranch camp summers, and nothing, I mean nothing came back in one piece but his Tolkein trilogy.

    Your post today reminded me of the many pleasurable hours we spent talking and his years dreaming of these books.

  2. Sad to say, but I didn’t get into fantasy until I was a teenager. I discovered the Lord of the Rings in high school and fell in love with fantasy and now write fantasy. Thanks for the article!

  3. John Wiswell says:

    I admit to being bummed at Del Toro leaving the film project. After Devil’s Backbone and Pan’s Labyrinth, he seemed like the best choice in the world to adapt The Hobbit. But Jackson has the track record. I’m plenty excited.

Leave a Reply

